Best AI Answering Services

Best virtual receptionist services in 2026, compared by real cost

Ten live receptionist services, priced from their own plans, plus the billing rules that change what you really pay.

Updated 5 October 2026Prices checked 5 October 2026We may earn a commission

A virtual receptionist is a real person, working remotely for an answering company, who picks up your business line in your company's name. They take messages, book appointments, screen and transfer calls, and run short intake scripts. Most services sell bundles of minutes; a few charge per call.

We priced 10 virtual receptionist services for US businesses from their own pricing pages on 5 October 2026, at 100, 250 and 500 minutes a month. At 250 minutes, the same month of calls costs $312.20 at the cheapest service and $1,177.50 at the most expensive. How a service counts a minute matters almost as much as its price: the same 100 short calls can be billed as 217 minutes at one service and 300 at another.

Our picks

  • Best value: Specialty Answering Service. The lowest cost at all three volumes (tied with MAP at 500 minutes), billed by the second, with a free trial that needs no card.
  • Best to try first: PATLive. A 14-day free trial on any plan, Spanish and scheduling included, and billing in 6-second steps after the first minute.
  • Lowest pay-as-you-go rate: MAP Communications, $49 a month plus $1.37 a minute, but every call is rounded up to the whole minute.
  • Best mix of AI and people: Abby Connect. Every plan includes an AI receptionist, and AI minutes count half.
  • Best for long intake calls: Smith.ai, which charges per call, not per minute.
  • Best premium service: Ruby, if you want a well-known brand and will pay for it.

What 100, 250 and 500 minutes cost

We count 2-minute calls, so 250 minutes is roughly 125 calls a month. PATLive's own pricing page assumes about 2.5 minutes a call.

Service100 minutesabout 50 calls250 minutesabout 125 calls500 minutesabout 250 calls
Specialty Answering Service$159100 minutes$312.20220 minutes + 30 extra minutes$649500 minutes
MAP Communications$179Business$339Enterprise$649Premium
AnswerConnect$325Entry$350Growth$650550 minutes
PATLive$189100 minutes$448.50200 minutes + 50 extra minutes$759500 minutes
Davinci Virtual (weekdays only)$216.50Business 50 + 50 extra minutes$479Business 50 + 200 extra minutes$916.50Business 50 + 450 extra minutes
Moneypenny$265100 minutes$517.50200 minutes + 50 extra minutes$985500 minutes
Posh$215Elegant$525Luxurious + 50 extra minutes$975Lavish
Abby Connect$329Essential$748.75Professional + 50 extra minutes$1,380Growth
Ruby$395100 minutes$940200 minutes + 50 extra minutes$1,725500 minutes
Smith.ai (per call)$530Starter + 20 extra calls$1,177.50Basic + 35 extra calls$2,100Pro

Cheapest published plan for each volume, plus published overage, checked 5 October 2026. Monthly prices only: setup fees, add-ons and taxes are not included (see each review). Smith.ai sells calls, not minutes, so we counted 2-minute calls. Abby's overage is its plan rate per minute. Davinci's live receptionists work weekdays only, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Eastern; its Business plans don't include appointment scheduling.

The spread is wide: at 250 minutes, Ruby costs $940 and Smith.ai $1,177.50 for the same calls that Specialty Answering Service handles for $312.20. For comparison, the median US receptionist earns $38,010 a year before payroll taxes and benefits (BLS), about $3,168 a month, and covers about 40 of the 168 hours in a week.

How each service counts a minute

Take a call that lasts 2 minutes and 10 seconds. Billed by the second, it costs 2.17 minutes. Rounded up to 30 seconds, 2.5 minutes. Rounded up to the whole minute, 3 minutes, and some services also add the time the receptionist spends writing up your message after the caller hangs up. Over 100 such calls, that's 217 minutes at one service and 300 or more at another.

ServiceBilling stepWhat else countsShort, spam and wrong-number calls
Specialty Answering ServicePer secondLive transfers cost $0.10 a minute extraNot stated
Davinci VirtualPer secondOnly time on the phone with your callerNot stated
PATLiveFirst minute in full, then 6 secondsOnly receptionist time with the callerNot stated
Abby Connect30 secondsRing, talk and transfer time; not hold time or after-call workNot stated; you can block numbers
Moneypenny30 secondsNot detailedNot stated; it can block spam and sales callers on request
RubyWhole minute, rounded upHold time counts; talk time after a transfer doesn'tCalls under 10 seconds are free; robocalls, hang-ups and wrong numbers are billed unless its free robocall filter blocks them
AnswerConnectWhole minute, rounded upAfter-call work counts; queue time doesn'tThe first 30 calls under 30 seconds each billing cycle are free, including wrong numbers and spam; after that they count
MAP CommunicationsWhole minute, rounded upAfter-call work countsNot stated
PoshNot publishedTime on the phone plus time completing a task for youNot stated
Smith.aiPer callEach add-on is a per-call feeSpam and unsolicited sales calls aren't billed

From each service's pricing page, FAQ, help center or terms, checked 5 October 2026. “Not stated” means we found no published rule.

If your calls are short, per-second billing (Specialty Answering Service, Davinci) or PATLive's 6-second steps save real money. If they are long intakes, Smith.ai's per-call price ($7 to $10 a call inside its plans) beats the cheapest per-minute services once calls run longer than about 5 to 7 minutes.

The 10 services, ranked

Ranked on price at typical small-business volumes, how fairly the minutes are counted, and what's included without add-ons. We haven't used these services ourselves; everything below comes from their own published pages, which we link. Commissions never change a ranking (how we compare).

1

Specialty Answering Service

The lowest monthly cost at all three volumes we priced (tied with MAP at 500 minutes), billed by the second, with a BAA for medical offices. Good for any small business that wants the most minutes for the money.

Price
$44 a month + $1.54 a minute; $159 for 100 minutes; $269 for 220; $649 for 500; $1,199 for 1,000
Overage
$1.29 to $1.44 a minute
Billing
Per second; no setup fee; month-to-month
Trial
14 days or 200 minutes, no credit card
Who answers
US-based receptionists, 24/7, English and Spanish

Why it fits

  • Lowest cost at 100 and 250 minutes in our table, and tied with MAP at 500.
  • Scheduling, lead capture and order taking on every plan.
  • Offers a BAA for HIPAA (SAS).

Watch for

  • Live transfers (“patching”) cost $0.10 a minute on top; IVR and voicemail are $0.15 a minute.
  • Outbound calls are offered, but their price isn't published.
  • No AI option.
Visit Specialty Answering ServiceOpens the vendor's site
2

PATLive

Clear pricing, fine billing steps, and a free trial on any plan. The easiest service to test before you commit.

Price
$49 a month + $2.99 a minute; $99 for 50 minutes; $189 for 100; $349 for 200; $479 for 300; $759 for 500; $1,499 for 1,000
Overage
$1.69 to $2.29 a minute
Billing
First minute in full, then 6-second steps; month-to-month
Trial
14 days, any plan
Who answers
People only, 24/7; English and Spanish at no extra cost

Why it fits

  • Scheduling, intake, call screening and transfers on every plan.
  • Calendar and CRM integrations included.
  • Larger plans run to 5,000 minutes.

Watch for

  • Taxes and fees are extra.
  • HIPAA coverage needs a signed BAA first; it isn't on by default.
  • Outbound calling is a separate product, from $19 a month plus $8.95 per outreach.
Visit PATLiveOpens the vendor's site
3

MAP Communications

The lowest pay-as-you-go rate per minute and low overage, from an employee-owned company in Virginia. Read the fee list in its terms.

Price
$49 a month + $1.37 a minute; $179 for 125 minutes; $339 for 250; $649 for 500
Overage
$1.28 to $1.37 a minute
Billing
Whole minutes, rounded up, including after-call work
Trial
7 days, no credit card
Who answers
US-based agents, 24/7, English and Spanish

Why it fits

  • HIPAA, PCI-DSS, HITRUST and SOC 2 listed on every plan.
  • Integrates with Calendly, Google Calendar, Clio, HubSpot and Salesforce.
  • Same rate day or night.

Watch for

  • Its terms add a telecom fee of $0.024 a call plus flat compliance, technology and holiday fees whose amounts aren't published (MAP terms).
  • Whole-minute rounding plus after-call work makes a short call cost more minutes than the price suggests.
  • Cancelling needs written notice a month before your next invoice.
Visit MAP CommunicationsOpens the vendor's site
4

AnswerConnect

Low per-minute prices once you need 200 minutes or more, with scheduling and calendar or CRM integration on every plan.

Price
$325 for 200 minutes; $350 for 300; $475 for 375; $650 for 550; $875 for 750; $1,100 for 950
Overage
$1.65 a minute ($1.95 on Entry)
Billing
Calls over 30 seconds billed in whole minutes, rounded up, including after-call work
Setup
$49.99 on every plan except Growth
Who answers
People, 24/7; no AI

Why it fits

  • The first 30 calls under 30 seconds each month are free.
  • Plans scale past 2,500 minutes.

Watch for

  • Spanish is a $19.99 to $29.99 monthly add-on; HIPAA is $29.99 a month.
  • Its website puts prices behind a sign-up form; the public price list is a PDF.
  • No plan under 200 minutes.
Visit AnswerConnectOpens the vendor's site
5

Abby Connect

One subscription for human receptionists, an AI receptionist, or both, from a small US team in Las Vegas.

Price
$165 for 50 minutes; $329 for 100; $599 for 200; $1,380 for 500
AI minutes
Count as half a minute
Billing
30-second steps; ring, talk and transfer time; no setup fee
Trial
14 days or 500 minutes; card required; 22-day money-back guarantee
Who answers
People in Las Vegas, plus AI, English and Spanish

Why it fits

  • Scheduling on every plan, through Calendly for people and many booking tools for the AI.
  • The AI can hand a call to a human receptionist mid-call.
  • Choose your answering hours, 24/7 at no extra cost.

Watch for

  • Among the priciest per human minute: $2.76 to $3.30.
  • HIPAA options are for human answering only.
Visit Abby ConnectOpens the vendor's site
6

Posh

A low-cost entry plan and AI-plus-human plans at the same prices, from US receptionists in Virginia Beach.

Price
$65 a month + $2.30 a minute; $130 for 50 minutes; $215 for 100; $420 for 200; $700 for 350; $975 for 500
Overage
$1.90 to $2.30 a minute
AI plans
Same prices; AI overage is about half the live rate
Trial
7 days or 250 minutes, no credit card
Who answers
US-based receptionists, 24/7

Why it fits

  • No setup or other fees, according to its FAQ.
  • Integrates with Calendly, Acuity, Clio, HubSpot and Salesforce.
  • Receptionists can make outbound calls for you.

Watch for

  • Its billing step isn't published.
  • Spanish is guaranteed only on weekdays, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern (Posh FAQ).
Visit PoshOpens the vendor's site
7

Moneypenny

Every feature included on every plan, with 30-second billing. VoiceNation has been fully part of Moneypenny since February 2025 (Moneypenny).

Price
$165 for 50 minutes; $265 for 100; $422 for 200; $985 for 500
Overage
$1.67 to $2.28 a minute
Billing
30-second steps; no contract, 30 days' notice to cancel
AI plans
From $69 for 25 calls
Who answers
US-based receptionists, 24/7, English and Spanish

Why it fits

  • Warm transfers, lead qualification, CRM integrations and a mobile app on every plan.
  • 24/7 answering at no extra cost on every plan.

Watch for

  • No free trial or guarantee on its own site.
  • Plan availability of appointment scheduling isn't published.
Visit MoneypennyOpens the vendor's site
8

Ruby

A well-known premium service with bilingual 24/7 answering and a free BAA, at the highest per-minute prices here.

Price
$250 for 50 minutes; $395 for 100; $720 for 200; $1,725 for 500
Overage
$4.00 to $5.40 a minute, listed in its help center (Ruby)
Billing
Whole minutes, rounded up; calls under 10 seconds free
Guarantee
Money back within 21 days or 500 minutes
Who answers
People, 24/7, English and Spanish

Why it fits

  • All features on every plan, including scheduling, outbound calls and payment collection.
  • Optional AI enhancements at no extra cost.
  • Signs a BAA at no extra cost.

Watch for

  • Robocalls, hang-ups and wrong numbers use minutes unless its robocall filter blocks them.
  • Overage is steep: a busy month on a small plan costs far more than the headline price.
Visit RubyOpens the vendor's site
9

Smith.ai

Per-call pricing that suits long intake calls, from a service that also sells AI-first plans. Not for medical offices.

Price
$300 for 30 calls; $810 for 90; $2,100 for 300
Overage
$8.50 to $11.50 a call
Billing
Per call; spam and unsolicited sales calls free; 10% off with a 12-month subscription
Guarantee
30 days, up to $1,000
Who answers
People 24/7, backed by its own AI

Why it fits

  • Lead screening and intake of up to 5 short questions included; you pay per call, not per minute.
  • Integrates with many CRMs; the first integration is free.

Watch for

  • Appointment booking (+$1.50), a Spanish line (+$1) and payments (+$1) are per-call add-ons.
  • Not HIPAA compliant (Smith.ai).
  • Expensive for short calls: 125 two-minute calls cost more than $1,100.
Visit Smith.aiOpens the vendor's site
10

Davinci Virtual

Per-second billing and transfers to up to 99 numbers, but live receptionists only on weekdays, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Eastern.

Price
Business: $129 for 50 minutes, $239 for 100. Premium (adds scheduling and outbound): $249 for 50, $319 for 100
Overage
$1.75 a minute on Business, $2.50 on Premium
Billing
Per second; $95 setup
Hours
Live 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Eastern, Monday to Friday; an automated attendant otherwise

Why it fits

  • Forwards calls to up to 99 numbers at no extra charge.
  • Per-second billing.

Watch for

  • No live answering at night or on weekends.
  • Scheduling only on the pricier Premium plans.
  • No published trial; setup fees aren't refundable.
Visit Davinci VirtualOpens the vendor's site

Not ranked: Nexa publishes plans of 100, 300 and 500 minutes but no prices, and its terms allow billing for robocalls and a setup fee (Nexa terms). Ask for a written quote.

Features side by side

Service24/7 liveSpanishSchedulingHIPAAAI optionFree trial or guarantee
Specialty Answering ServiceYesYesYesYes, BAA offeredNo14 days or 200 minutes
PATLiveYesIncludedYesWith a signed BAANo14 days
MAP CommunicationsYesYesOffered; may cost moreYes; BAA not mentionedNo7 days
AnswerConnectYes$19.99–$29.99 a monthYes$29.99 a monthNoNot published
Abby ConnectOptional, no upchargeYesYesHuman answering onlyIncluded14 days; 22-day money-back
PoshYesWeekdays 9–6 ETYesYes; BAA not mentionedAI plans, same price7 days or 250 minutes
MoneypennyYesYesNot detailed by planSoftware HIPAA compliantSeparate AI plansNone published
RubyYesYesYesFree BAAAI enhancements21-day money-back
Smith.aiYes+$1 a call+$1.50 a callNoAI-first plans30-day money-back
Davinci VirtualWeekdays onlyNot statedPremium plansNot statedNoNone published

From each service's pricing page, FAQ and terms, checked 5 October 2026.

Live, AI or both?

An AI receptionist is software, not a person, and it costs far less at the same volume. Among the AI services we track that book appointments and transfer calls, the cheapest costs $48.20 at 50 calls (Dialzara), $94.95 at 125 calls (Upfirst) and $149 at 250 calls (Answrr) a month, against $159, $312.20 and $649 for the cheapest live service. Compare them all on our AI answering services page.

A person still handles upset, confused or unusual callers better than a script, which is why several services now sell both:

  • Abby Connect includes an AI receptionist in every plan; AI minutes count half, and the AI can pass a caller to a person mid-call.
  • Posh sells AI-plus-live plans at the same prices as its live plans (Posh AI).
  • Moneypenny sells separate AI plans from $69 for 25 calls, with a person on hand when a call needs one.
  • Smith.ai has AI-first plans, including a free plan for 25 calls a month (Smith.ai).
  • Ruby adds optional AI features to its human service at no extra cost.

One way to combine them: AI for after-hours and overflow, a person during the day.

Medical and dental offices

If the receptionist will hear patient names, dates of birth or reasons for a visit, HIPAA expects a signed business associate agreement (BAA) with the service (HHS), not just a “HIPAA compliant” badge. From the services' own pages:

  • Ruby signs a BAA at no extra cost (Ruby).
  • Specialty Answering Service offers a BAA.
  • PATLive supports HIPAA, but only after a separate written BAA (PATLive terms).
  • AnswerConnect charges $29.99 a month for HIPAA; MAP, Posh, Moneypenny and Abby describe HIPAA compliance but don't mention a BAA on the pages we checked. Ask for one in writing.
  • Smith.ai says it isn't HIPAA compliant; Davinci doesn't say.

For dental offices, our dentist guide also covers booking into practice software.

Questions to ask before you sign

  • How is a minute counted? Billing step, after-call work, hold time, time after a transfer.
  • Do I pay for spam, robocalls and wrong numbers? Only Smith.ai, AnswerConnect (first 30 short calls) and Ruby (calls under 10 seconds, and filtered robocalls) publish which calls are free. Nexa's terms say it can bill robocalls.
  • What's the overage rate? Ruby's is in its help center, not on its pricing page; Abby's is your plan's per-minute rate.
  • Which fees aren't on the pricing page? Setup fees (AnswerConnect $49.99, Davinci $95), add-ons for Spanish or HIPAA, holiday and telecom fees in the terms (MAP, Nexa).
  • When do live people answer? Davinci is weekdays only; Posh guarantees Spanish on weekdays only.
  • How do I cancel? MAP and Nexa want written notice a month before your next invoice, Davinci 30 days' written notice, and Moneypenny 30 days' notice.

A one-week trial plan

  1. Write a one-page script: greeting, your top five questions, who gets transferred and when, and what counts as urgent.
  2. Call your own number at 8 a.m., at lunchtime, at 9 p.m. and on Sunday. Note how fast they pick up and whether they use your company name.
  3. Ask to book an appointment and check that it lands in your calendar.
  4. Ask for a person and time the transfer.
  5. Call once in Spanish, if your customers speak it.
  6. At the end of the week, compare the billed minutes in their portal with your own call log.

Questions owners ask

What is a virtual receptionist?

A person who answers your business calls remotely, in your company's name, for an answering-service company. They take messages, book appointments, transfer calls and run short intake scripts. Some companies also call their AI products virtual receptionists, so check whether a person or software will answer.

How much does a virtual receptionist cost?

At about 100 minutes a month, from $159 (Specialty Answering Service) to $395 (Ruby) among services that bill by the minute, and $530 at Smith.ai, which charges per call. At 250 minutes, from $312.20 to $1,177.50. Pay-as-you-go plans start at $44 a month plus $1.54 a minute (Specialty Answering Service) or $49 plus $1.37 (MAP).

What is the cheapest virtual receptionist service?

In our comparison, Specialty Answering Service: $159 for 100 minutes and $649 for 500, billed by the second. MAP Communications matches it at 500 minutes. At about 50 minutes a month, PATLive's $99 plan costs least.

Is a virtual receptionist worth it?

If missed calls cost you customers, often yes: a month of a live service at 250 minutes costs $312.20 to $1,177.50, against about $3,168 a month in wages alone for a full-time receptionist at the US median. If most of your calls are routine, an AI receptionist costs less still.

What's the difference between a virtual receptionist and an answering service?

Mostly the name. Both are remote receptionists. “Answering service” often means message-taking and after-hours cover; “virtual receptionist” suggests a fuller front-desk role with scheduling, transfers and intake. Compare what each plan includes rather than the label.

Virtual receptionist or AI receptionist?

An AI receptionist answers every call at once for a fraction of the price. A person handles upset or complicated callers better. You can use AI for after-hours and overflow, or pick a service that offers both, such as Abby Connect or Posh.

Do virtual receptionists answer 24/7?

All ten services here except Davinci answer live around the clock. Davinci's receptionists work 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Eastern on weekdays, with an automated attendant otherwise.

Do I pay for spam calls and wrong numbers?

It depends. Smith.ai doesn't bill spam or unsolicited sales calls. AnswerConnect doesn't bill the first 30 calls under 30 seconds each billing cycle. Ruby doesn't bill calls under 10 seconds or robocalls its filter blocks, but bills the rest. Nexa's terms say it can bill robocalls. Most others don't publish a rule, so ask.

Can a virtual receptionist book appointments?

Yes. Most services here schedule into your calendar on every plan. Smith.ai charges $1.50 per booking, Davinci includes scheduling only on its Premium plans, and MAP says scheduling typically costs more.

Can I try a virtual receptionist service for free?

Yes: PATLive offers 14 days, Specialty Answering Service 14 days or 200 minutes, Abby Connect 14 days or 500 minutes, Posh 7 days or 250 minutes, and MAP 7 days. Ruby and Smith.ai offer money-back guarantees instead.

Sources

All vendor pages checked 5 October 2026. AI prices come from our AI answering comparison, checked 30 September 2026.