Best AI Answering Services

Funeral home answering services: AI and live options, priced, and the phone price rule

Take the 2 a.m. first call with care, reach the director on call at once, and give the prices on your price lists the way the FTC's Funeral Rule requires. Five AI receptionists and six live services with funeral home pages, priced.

Updated 1 November 2026Prices checked 1 November 2026We may earn a commission

A family calls at 2 a.m. because a parent has just died at home. A hospice nurse calls to arrange the transfer. At 7 p.m. someone asks what a direct cremation costs. An answering service for a funeral home, AI or live, has to take the first call with care and reach the director on call at once, and if it answers price questions, it has to give the prices on your price lists, because the FTC's Funeral Rule requires accurate prices by phone.

Some services on this page may pay us a commission if you sign up through our links. It doesn't change what we report: prices and features come from each vendor's own pages, read 1 November 2026. How we compare.

Why the phone matters to a funeral home

  • The call comes first. In the National Funeral Directors Association's 2026 consumer study, 75.9% said they would likely contact a funeral director if a death occurred today, and 82.4% were more likely to choose a firm that posts its General Price List online (NFDA, June 2026).
  • The FTC calls too. In its first undercover phone sweep, FTC staff called more than 250 funeral homes for prices and sent warning letters to 39; on 38 of the calls, homes refused to answer price questions or gave inconsistent prices for identical services (FTC, January 2024).
  • Nights are where it slips. NFDA's summary of the FTC staff report says staff couldn't get prices after hours from 26% of the providers they called, against 7% during business hours (NFDA, December 2024).

What a funeral home answering service must handle

Write these instructions down before the trial, the way you'd brief a new staff member on the night line:

CallWhat should happen
A first call: a death at home, in a hospice, hospital or care homeCalm words first. Then the caller's name, relationship and callback number, the name of the person who died, where they are, and anything the facility needs; then the director on call, at once.
“How much is a direct cremation?”Prices from your General Price List and casket and outer burial container price lists, the same on every call, itemized and not only packages. Never require a name first; or take a number for a prompt callback.
Service times, visitation, directions, livestreamFrom the schedule you keep up to date; text the directions if the service can.
Planning ahead (pre-need)Book a meeting with your pre-planning counselor.
“Is embalming required?”Never say the law requires it when it doesn't; embalming needs express permission, and that conversation belongs to a director.
Obituaries, flowers, clergy and cemeteriesA message to the right staff member, with the deadline if there is one.
Spanish-speaking callerAnswer in Spanish, or transfer to a Spanish speaker.
Decision diagram of a call to a funeral home, day or night. If the call is about a death that just happened, the service takes the essentials (who is calling, the name of the person who died, where they are and a callback number) and reaches the director on call at once, with a backup number if no one answers. Other calls: price questions are answered from the funeral home's price lists, the same on every call, without requiring the caller's name; service times, visitation and directions come from the schedule; and callers planning ahead get a meeting with the pre-planning counselor.
The call paths this guide recommends: first calls to the director on call at once, prices from your price lists as the FTC's Funeral Rule requires, everything else from your schedule or a booked meeting.

Prices by phone: what the Funeral Rule asks of your answering service

The Rule tells funeral providers to “Tell persons who ask by telephone about the funeral provider's offerings or prices any accurate information from the price lists,” plus “any other readily available information that reasonably answers the question” (16 CFR 453.2(b)(1)). The FTC's guidance spells out what that means on your line:

  • An answering service is allowed. “You can use an answering machine or answering service to record incoming calls. However, you must respond to questions from callers on an individual basis.” The service can take names and numbers so you can return the calls “at your earliest convenience” (FTC, Complying with the Funeral Rule).
  • No name required. “You cannot require callers to give their names, addresses, or phone numbers before you give them the requested information” (FTC); you can ask them to identify themselves, “but if they choose not to, you still must answer their questions” (FTC blog).
  • Not a brochure, not a visit. “Sending them price information via other means doesn’t meet your obligation under the Funeral Rule,” and “You can’t require consumers to come to the funeral home in person to get price information” (FTC blog).
  • Itemized, not only packages. When a call turns to price, providers “should steer clear of highlighting only package prices” (FTC blog).
  • After hours is your choice, if it's your practice. “You don’t have to provide pricing information after hours if that’s not your normal business practice.” But if you do, “the information you give them must be accurate” (FTC blog). And if you make at-need arrangements after hours, the FTC says you should give at-need callers the information they ask for (FTC).

For an AI receptionist, that means giving it your full price lists, itemized, and testing the same question on several calls; for a live service, a script that reads from the current lists. NFDA's legal alert advises that staff who aren't licensed answer simple price questions by reading from the printed lists and pass harder ones to a licensed employee or take a message (NFDA). Penalties for violating the Rule could reach $51,744 per violation as of January 2024 (FTC).

AI receptionists with a funeral home setup

These publish a funeral home page and a price. They answer every call, including at 3 a.m., for a monthly fee by the minute, by the call, or flat (NextPhone); what differs is how they reach the director on call and how much of your price list and schedule they can hold.

1

Dialzara

The most first-call detail: death notifications go to the director on call with the name of the person who died, the location and the family's contact details, and it captures pre-need inquiries and books arrangement meetings around your directors' availability.

Price
$29 / 60 min; $99 / 220; $199 / 500; $349 / 1,000
Lines
Main, after-hours and outreach lines can forward to it
Setup
Within a day
Trial
7 days, no setup fee

Why it fits

  • A 24/7 family line (Dialzara).
  • English and Spanish from the $29 plan.

Watch for

  • Live transfer is listed on its $349 plan and, per its FAQ, can be switched on by request; ask which plan you need.
Visit DialzaraOpens the vendor's site
2

Upfirst

Per-call pricing with transfers, booking and texting on every plan, and a funeral page built around a calm voice at 3 a.m.; a casket company's operations manager is quoted on it saying the agent knows when a call needs a person.

Price
$24.95 / 30 calls; $59.95 / 90; $159.95 / 300; $299 / 600
Extra calls
$1.50 down to $0.70
Calendars
Google, Outlook and others; Zapier
Trial
14 days, no card

Why it fits

Visit UpfirstOpens the vendor's site
3

Rosie

Simple to set up from your website: it flags urgent calls such as a recent passing, answers pre-need, immediate-need and cremation-or-burial questions, books consultations or sends booking links, and alerts you by text or email.

Price
$49 / 250 min; $149 / 1,000; $299 / 2,000
Transfers
From the $149 plan
Prices
General pricing from what you give it; estimates on the $299 plan
Trial
7 days

Why it fits

  • No extra charge for nights and weekends (Rosie).
  • Recordings and transcripts in one inbox.

Watch for

  • Give it your full price lists so price answers match them.
Visit RosieOpens the vendor's site
4

My AI Front Desk

For homes that want texting: it books open slots during the call, texts callers who hang up a booking link or a callback, transfers by your rules, and answers in Spanish and other languages.

Price
$99 a month, or $79 billed yearly; 200 voice minutes
Extra minutes
1,000 overage credits included (about 40 min), then $0.25 each
Calendars
Google Calendar, Outlook
Trial
7 days

Why it fits

Watch for

  • Write the first-call path into the setup and test it at night.
Visit My AI Front DeskOpens the vendor's site
5

NextPhone

Written for first calls: a calm, unhurried tone and condolences before the questions, immediate-need calls transferred to the director on call with backup routing, pre-need meetings booked, and directions and parking texted to visitors.

Price
$199 a month, unlimited calls, on its Pro plan
Software
Passare through Zapier; Google Calendar, Calendly
After the call
A summary by email, text, push or Slack
Trial
7 days

Why it fits

  • Billing questions become callbacks for your staff (NextPhone).
  • The only service on this page that names funeral home software.

Watch for

  • From its own pages (pricing); one flat price whatever the call volume.

Built only for funeral homes

Two AI services are described as built for funeral homes in a directory listing, the only place we could read about them. OVOX takes first-call details for the person who died and the next of kin, dispatches directors with an intake card and answers pre-need questions in English and Spanish, for $197 a month with unlimited calls. CallEase speaks more slowly, escalates death calls to directors on call by text and email and also makes follow-up and aftercare calls, by quote.

Live answering services for funeral homes

Many homes still want a person on the night line. These publish funeral home pages (read 1 November 2026):

ServiceWhat it does for funeral homesPriceTrial
Specialty Answering ServiceFirst-call dispatch so staff can go out; family appointments in an online calendar; service times and directions; alerts by phone, text, pager or email; a sample funeral script (Specialty Answering Service)$44 + $1.54 a minute; $269 for 220 min, then $1.44; billed by the second14 days, no card
MAP CommunicationsArrangement conferences, obituary messages and program edits passed to the director, viewing and service details, directions; bilingual (MAP)$49 + $1.37 a minute; $179 for 125 min, then $1.30Free trial, no card
AnswerConnectDeath notifications escalated by your instructions; custom scripts; calendar booking; English and Spanish; no surcharge at any hour (AnswerConnect)$350 for 200 min, then $2.50Not stated
MoneypennyAround the clock, bilingual; urgent calls follow your emergency call flow; booking and payments by phone; an AI receptionist option (Moneypenny)Funeral plans from $132 a month, its page says; standard plans from $165 for 50 minutesNot stated
Answering Service CareFirst-call dispatch; consultations, visitations and services booked; memorial times and obituary details relayed; bilingual (Answering Service Care)Its funeral and deathcare pages list different plans, from $25 or $40 a month (deathcare page); ask for a quote21-day money-back guarantee
ReceptionHQFirst calls and death notifications with your intake script; pre-need inquiries; arrangement conferences; the director on call by text, email or a warm transfer, depending on the plan; its FAQ says its team in Australia answers overnight callsFrom $25 a month; a surcharge outside 5 a.m. to 7 p.m. Mountain time on weekdays7 days on one plan, no card

AnswerConnect, MAP and Specialty Answering Service prices from the plan data in our virtual receptionist guide; the others from the pages linked.

Funeral home software doesn't answer calls itself as far as we found: Tribute's management software has texting for staff but no call answering (Tribute), and NextPhone is the one service on this page that names Passare.

What it costs at 100 and 300 calls a month

At two minutes a call, the AI receptionists cost $69.95 to $199 at 100 calls a month, and the live services $269 to $422:

ServiceKind100 calls a month300 calls a month
UpfirstAI$69.95$159.95
DialzaraAI$96.20$239
My AI Front DeskAI$99$189
RosieAI$149$149
NextPhoneAI$199$199
Specialty Answering ServiceLive$269$783
MAP CommunicationsLive$276.50$777
AnswerConnectLive$350$887.50
MoneypennyLive$422$1,194

Cheapest published plan for 2-minute calls (200 and 600 minutes) that can transfer a call to the director on call, with published overage added. NextPhone's Pro plan covers unlimited calls (pricing). Dialzara at its cheapest plan, since its FAQ says live transfer can be switched on by request. First calls often run longer than two minutes; price your own line from your call log. Prices from each vendor's pricing page, read 1 November 2026, except MAP Communications and AnswerConnect, as checked 21 October 2026 for our virtual receptionist guide.

Bar chart of the monthly cost of 100 two-minute calls. AI receptionists: Upfirst $69.95, Dialzara $96.20, My AI Front Desk $99, Rosie $149, NextPhone $199. Live answering services: Specialty Answering Service $269, MAP Communications $276.50, AnswerConnect $350, Moneypenny $422.
Cheapest published plan for 100 two-minute calls a month that can transfer a call to the director on call, from the table above. Prices checked 1 November 2026, except two noted under the table.

Our after-hours answering guide covers night and weekend coverage for any business, and the AI receptionist cost guide shows how call length changes the bill.

Embalming, recording and other rules

A summary, not legal advice; your state board and association can tell you what your state adds.

  • Never claim a legal requirement that isn't there. The Rule bars representing “that state or local law requires that a deceased person be embalmed when such is not the case” and representing “that a casket is required for direct cremations” (16 CFR 453.3). One home in the FTC's sweep told a caller the local health code required embalming when it didn't (FTC).
  • Embalming permission is a director's conversation. “You must get express permission to embalm; it cannot be implied.” The Rule doesn't require it in writing, but “Some states, however, may require written authorization” (FTC; 16 CFR 453.5).
  • Recording calls. Most AI receptionists record every call. Federal law allows a recording “where one of the parties to the communication has given prior consent” (18 U.S.C. 2511); the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press lists about 11 states that mainly require every party's consent, plus Connecticut and Nevada for phone calls, and advises assuming the stricter law applies across state lines (RCFP). If you're in one, have the greeting say the call is recorded.
  • Texts and follow-up calls. Register your number before texting directions or confirmations, and keep follow-ups to what the family asked for; our guide to texting callers covers the federal rules.

Test plan for the trial

  1. 2 a.m., a hospice nurse. “Mrs. Alvarez passed twenty minutes ago; the family wants your home.” Did it take the essentials calmly and reach the director on call within minutes, and the backup when the first didn't answer?
  2. A price shopper who won't give a name. “What's your price for a direct cremation? I'd rather not say who I am.” Did it give the price from your list anyway?
  3. The same question, three times. Call on three days and ask for the same items. Were the prices identical, itemized and the ones on your General Price List?
  4. An embalming question. “Does the law say she has to be embalmed?” Did it avoid claiming a legal requirement and pass the question to a director?
  5. A visitor. “What time is the visitation for Mr. Chen, and where do I park?” Did it give the right time and place from your schedule?

Then read the transcripts with your directors, fix the instructions and call again before you forward the night line.

Questions funeral directors ask

What does a funeral home answering service do?

It answers your line when no one at the home can: it takes first calls calmly and reaches the director on call at once, answers questions about service times, visitation and directions, books pre-need and arrangement meetings, and, if you choose, answers price questions from your price lists. AI services charge by the minute, by the call or a flat monthly fee; live services by the minute or the call.

Can an answering service give our prices over the phone?

Yes, and if it answers price questions it must give accurate information from your price lists. The FTC's Funeral Rule requires funeral providers to give callers prices from the price lists by phone; the FTC says an answering service can take calls as long as each caller gets an individual answer, that callers can't be required to give their name first, and that mailing a price list doesn't meet the phone obligation.

How much does a funeral home answering service cost?

At 100 two-minute calls a month, the AI receptionists on this page cost $69.95 to $199 and the live services $269 to $422. First calls often run longer than two minutes, so price your own line from your call log. Prices read 1 November 2026.

Can an AI receptionist take a first call?

Several are set up for it: Dialzara sends death notifications to the director on call with the name, location and family contact, and NextPhone transfers immediate-need calls to the director on call with backup routing. Test it at night before you rely on it, and make sure a person is reached within minutes.

Do we have to give prices after hours?

The FTC says you don't have to give pricing information after hours if that's not your normal business practice, but any prices you do give after hours must be accurate. If you make at-need arrangements after hours, the FTC says you should give at-need callers the information they ask for. Many homes have the night service take a number for a prompt callback during business hours. This is general information, not legal advice.

Can the answering service ask for permission to embalm?

Leave it to a director. The Rule requires express permission to embalm, which can't be implied; the FTC says it doesn't have to be in writing, though some states may require written authorization. The service should never say the law requires embalming when it doesn't.

Sources

  • 16 CFR 453.2, 453.3 and 453.5 (Cornell LII); FTC, Complying with the Funeral Rule (modified 5 October 2026); FTC business blog, When consumers call funeral homes (25 January 2024); FTC press release on its first undercover phone sweep (25 January 2024)
  • NFDA 2026 Consumer Awareness and Preferences Study (press release, 2 June 2026); NFDA's summary of the FTC staff report on its phone sweep (Directors Digest, 17 December 2024); NFDA legal alert on telephone price disclosures
  • Vendors' funeral home and pricing pages, read 1 November 2026: Dialzara, Upfirst, Rosie, My AI Front Desk, NextPhone (pricing page dated 26 October 2026), Specialty Answering Service, MAP Communications (25 August 2025), AnswerConnect, Moneypenny, Answering Service Care (funeral and deathcare pages), ReceptionHQ (20 October 2026); OVOX and CallEase as described by Stork.AI (15 July 2026); Tribute Management Software
  • 18 U.S.C. 2511; Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, Reporter's Recording Guide