Best AI Answering Services

AI receptionists and answering services for salons and spas, priced

Book the right stylist for the right length of time, move appointments under your policy and pass the unhappy client to the owner. Booking-software receptionists, seven AI receptionists and five live services, priced at 100 and 300 calls a month.

Updated 1 November 2026Prices checked 1 November 2026We may earn a commission

The phone rings while every stylist has foils in or a client in the chair. An AI receptionist or answering service for a salon, barbershop or day spa answers that call: it books the right service with the right stylist for the right length of time, moves or cancels under your policy, answers price questions from your menu and passes the unhappy client to the owner. Before you buy one, check your booking software: several now sell an AI receptionist of their own.

Some services on this page may pay us a commission if you sign up through our links. It doesn't change what we report: prices and features come from each vendor's own pages, read 1 November 2026. How we compare.

Why salons miss calls

The figures come from companies that sell salon software and AI receptionists, so read them as theirs. Zenoti says 30% to 35% of inbound calls to salons and spas go unanswered, from its 2025 benchmark report on more than 30,000 businesses (Zenoti, September 2025). In Zenoti's 2025 survey of 1,011 salon and spa clients, as reported by Cira, 81% said they at least sometimes call to book or change an appointment outside business hours, 71% had given up on booking because they couldn't reach anyone, and 55% said they were comfortable dealing with an AI receptionist (Cira, October 2026).

What a salon answering service must handle

Write these rules down before the trial, the way you'd train a new front desk. Every service on this page works from your instructions:

CallWhat should happen
A new bookingName and number read back; the service and the stylist; new or returning; the service's real length on the calendar, not a fixed slot. Text the confirmation.
Color or chemical work for a new clientA consultation first, if that's your rule.
“Can I move my Saturday appointment?”Find the booking by the caller's number, move it or cancel it under your policy, and offer the freed time to the waitlist.
“How much is a balayage?”From-prices from your menu, and what changes the price (hair length, a consultation). No promises a stylist would have to keep.
A walk-in or a same-day requestToday's openings or the current wait, if you share it; otherwise a booking.
Deposits and no-show feesYour policy, word for word. Decide in advance whether anyone on the phone may take card details.
A complaint or a color correctionStraight to the owner or manager, not a booking slot.
Spanish-speaking clientAnswer in Spanish, or transfer to a Spanish speaker.
Decision diagram of a call to a salon. A caller who wants to book gives the service, the stylist and whether they are new or returning, and the service's real length is blocked on the calendar; color or chemical work for a new client gets a consultation first, anything else is booked with a text confirmation. A question gets from-prices from the salon's menu, or hours, parking and product answers. A caller who wants to change or cancel is found by phone number and the cancellation policy applies; freed time is offered to the waitlist.
The call paths this guide recommends: the right stylist and service length, consultations before color for new clients, your own cancellation policy, and freed time offered to the waitlist.

Check your booking software first

The salon booking platforms now sell AI receptionists that live inside the calendar, so they see real availability without an integration. What each says (read 1 November 2026):

Booking softwareIts AI receptionistPrice
BoulevardBeau answers at your number around the clock, answers menu, hours and cancellation-policy questions, sends an appointment link when the client is ready, takes messages and transfers; always on, backup for missed calls, or after hours only (Boulevard). Its help center calls it a beta and says after-hours calls end in a message, not a transfer (Boulevard help)$125 a month per location with 200 minutes, then $0.60 a minute
GlossGeniusReception answers calls and texts, books, reschedules and cancels in the calendar, and follows your deposit, card-on-file and cancellation policies (GlossGenius); GlossGenius itself has a 14-day free trial (GlossGenius, October 2026)A $50 monthly add-on
FreshaAI Concierge answers calls and texts, books, reschedules and cancels in the Fresha calendar, and transfers or takes messages, as a directory listing describes it; Fresha's own page wasn't reachable for us (listing)$99.95 per location a month, per the listing
ZenotiAn AI receptionist that answers the calls the front desk can't, books in real time with a text confirmation and answers from your service menu (Zenoti)Its two articles describe it as included in the platform or billed by use; ask for a quote
VagaroVera Receptionist answers messages from your listing page and text-marketing number, including after hours, and sends booking links; its announcement doesn't say it answers phone calls (Vagaro, 24 August 2026)Not stated

Square Appointments had no AI receptionist of its own that we found; the services in the booking-software table below book into it.

A built-in receptionist is simplest if you're happy with your platform. An independent one is worth a look if you want to switch platforms later, need live people too, or want a per-call price.

AI receptionists with a salon setup

These publish a salon or spa page and a price. They differ in whether they book during the call or text a link, how they handle stylist requests and service length, and which booking software they reach.

1

Upfirst

Per-call pricing with booking on every plan: it checks availability and books into your calendar, answers questions on services, prices, hours and your cancellation policy, greets callers by name, and can cover nights, weekends or overflow only.

Price
$24.95 / 30 calls; $59.95 / 90; $159.95 / 300; $299 / 600
Calendars
Google, Outlook, Acuity, Calendly; Vagaro through Zapier
Languages
Over 30
Trial
14 days, no card

Why it fits

Visit UpfirstOpens the vendor's site
2

AptaBook

Built around your rules: it books hair, nail and spa services under each provider's rules, answers only from content you approve, fills last-minute openings and captures same-day walk-in interest, on the phone and in website chat.

Price
$49 / 50 conversations; $99 / 400; $149 / 1,500
Software
Google Calendar, Outlook; Mindbody through Zapier where available; HubSpot, Zoho
Hours
Around the clock
Trial
15 days, no card

Why it fits

  • Works alongside your booking app rather than replacing it (AptaBook).
  • Reminders included.
Visit AptaBookOpens the vendor's site
3

Cira

Service length and stylist fit: it books the right length of time with a suitable stylist, answers menu and price questions the way you set them, tells walk-in requests from appointments, and books by text after hours, in English or Spanish.

Price
$59 / 200 conversations; $159 / 400; $259 / 600
Extra
$0.79 down to $0.59 a conversation
Confirmations
Text confirmations and reminders
Trial
7 days

Why it fits

  • Lists services from blowouts and color correction to extensions and bridal trials (Cira).
  • No per-minute charges and no contract.

Watch for

  • Cira names no booking software; ask which calendars it books into.
Visit CiraOpens the vendor's site
4

Rosie

Simple and cheap to start: it answers every call, books or texts booking links, answers service, price and availability questions, texts a booking link for the right stylist or therapist, and records custom messages such as a preferred stylist or color.

Price
$49 / 250 min; $149 / 1,000; $299 / 2,000
Booking
Links by text on every plan; calendar booking from $149
Learns from
Your website and Google Business Profile
Trial
7 days

Why it fits

  • Tells urgent calls, such as last-minute bookings and cancellations, from routine ones (Rosie).
  • Blocks spam calls.
Visit RosieOpens the vendor's site
5

Allo

Written for the front desk: it quotes from-prices from your menu, books the requested stylist for the service's real length, requires a consultation before color or chemical services, recognizes regulars and passes complaints and color corrections to the owner.

Price
$32 a seat plus $32 for the AI receptionist, a month billed yearly
Calendars
Google, Outlook, Cal.com, Calendly
Extras
Missed-call text back and reminders
Trial
3 days

Why it fits

  • Works with your existing number, ported or forwarded.
  • The AI receptionist is billed on top of the Business seat (Allo pricing).

Watch for

  • Allo says it doesn't book directly into Vagaro, Fresha or Square Appointments and suggests syncing them to Google Calendar (Allo).
Visit AlloOpens the vendor's site
6

KaiCalls

Overflow for a busy chair: it captures each booking, reschedule, cancellation or question with the service, timing and requested provider, sends your staff a summary, and notes who wants a cancelled slot.

Price
$10 / about 20 calls; $79 / about 170; $349 / about 800
For
Hair and nail salons, day spas, lash studios, solo providers
Booking
Direct booking depends on your calendar setup
First week
$2

Why it fits

Watch for

  • Call allowances are approximate.
Visit KaiCallsOpens the vendor's site
7

My AI Front Desk

For salons that text a lot: it books during the call with a text confirmation, reschedules, texts your price list on request, routes urgent or VIP calls by your rules, and answers in more than 20 languages.

Price
$99 a month, or $79 billed yearly; 200 voice minutes plus 1,000 overage credits
Software
HubSpot, Salesforce, Pipedrive; no salon booking software named
Setup
Comes with salon and spa call flows
Trial
7 days

Why it fits

Visit My AI Front DeskOpens the vendor's site

Also with a salon, spa or barbershop page

  • Goodcall books, reschedules and cancels, texts booking links or price lists on request, and names Salonist and Square (Goodcall).
  • Dialzara's barbershop page books by barber availability, takes preferred-barber requests and lets callers check the current walk-in wait (Dialzara).
  • Quo's Sona answers from your menu, prices and policies and asks for a stylist preference when it takes an appointment message (Quo).
  • AgentZap books directly into Vagaro and checks stylist availability, for $109 to $119 a month on its own page; SkipCalls books into Square Appointments for $249.99 a year for the integration.

Which ones book into your booking software

Booking during the call needs a connection to the calendar you already use. What each service says on its own pages:

Booking softwareServices that book into it or name it
BoulevardIts own Beau; Abby Connect's AI books with the right provider and changes or cancels appointments (Abby)
Square AppointmentsAbby Connect's AI offers open times, books and moves or cancels by your policy (Abby); Smith.ai's receptionists book and can collect payment details for deposits (Smith.ai); SkipCalls; Goodcall names it
VagaroAgentZap (directly); Upfirst (through Zapier). Vagaro's own Vera answers messages
MindbodyAptaBook through Zapier where available
FreshaIts own AI Concierge; Abby Connect takes complete requests for the salon to enter (Abby)
GlossGenius, ZenotiTheir own AI receptionists
Google Calendar, Outlook, Acuity, CalendlyMost of the AI receptionists above

From each vendor's own pages, read 1 November 2026.

Live and hybrid answering services for salons

A person handles the bridal party, the color correction and the client who wants to talk it through. These publish salon or spa pages:

ServiceWhat it does for salons and spasEntry plansTrial
Specialty Answering ServiceLive operators around the clock; books with a named stylist or anyone free, in your online calendar if you like; answers rates and specials; English and Spanish; a sample hair salon script (Specialty Answering Service)$44 + $1.54 a minute; $269 for 220 min, then $1.4414 days, no card
MAP CommunicationsBilingual receptionists 24 hours on a custom script; answers questions, books, takes messages; switch coverage on and off (MAP)$49 + $1.37 a minute; $179 for 125 min, then $1.30One week, no card
Abby ConnectPeople, AI or both on one plan: scheduling, screening, reschedules (Abby Connect); its AI books into Boulevard and Square Appointments (Abby, Abby)$164 for 50 Abby Minutes; $329 for 100; $599 for 200. One Abby Minute is 1 minute with a person or 2 with the AIFree trial on every plan
PoshLive receptionists alone or with AI: the AI confirms times and books, a person takes reschedules and unusual requests; English and Spanish weekdays 9 to 6 Eastern (Posh)$65 + $2.30 a minute; $215 for 100 min, then $2.15Free trial
Answering Service CareA team around the clock for salons, spas and massage therapists: makes, changes and cancels appointments, relays messages (Answering Service Care)Not on its beauty pageNot stated

Entry plans for Abby Connect, MAP, Posh and Specialty Answering Service from the plan data in our virtual receptionist guide.

What it costs at 100 and 300 calls a month

A one-chair studio might send 100 calls a month to a service; a busy salon, 300 or more. At two minutes a call, the AI receptionists cost $49 to $212.50 at 100 calls, and the live services $269 to $915:

ServiceKind100 calls a month300 calls a month
RosieAI$49$149
CiraAI$59$138
AlloAI$64$64
UpfirstAI$69.95$159.95
Quo with SonaAI$77$154.50
GoodcallAI$79$129
KaiCallsAI$79$349
DialzaraAI$96.20$239
AptaBookAI$99$99
My AI Front DeskAI$99$189
Smith.ai AI ReceptionistAI$212.50$500
Specialty Answering ServiceLive$269$783
MAP CommunicationsLive$276.50$777
PoshLive$420$1,170
Abby ConnectLive$599$1,656
Smith.ai live receptionistsLive$915$2,100

Cheapest published plan for 2-minute calls (200 and 600 minutes) with published overage added; some of the cheapest plans send a booking link instead of booking during the call (Rosie's $49 plan, for one). Allo is its Business seat plus its AI receptionist, billed yearly; Quo is its Starter plan billed monthly plus Sona; Abby Connect counts an AI minute as half an Abby Minute; Smith.ai's live receptionists bill by the call. Prices from each vendor's pricing page, read 1 November 2026, except Allo's AI receptionist (28 October 2026) and MAP Communications and Posh, as checked 21 October 2026.

Bar chart of the monthly cost of 100 two-minute calls. AI receptionists: Rosie $49, Cira $59, Allo $64, Upfirst $69.95, Quo with Sona $77, Goodcall $79, KaiCalls $79, Dialzara $96.20, AptaBook $99, My AI Front Desk $99, Smith.ai AI Receptionist $212.50. Live answering services: Specialty Answering Service $269, MAP Communications $276.50, Posh $420, Abby Connect $599, Smith.ai live receptionists $915.
Cheapest published plan for 100 two-minute calls a month, from the table above. Prices checked 1 November 2026 or as noted under the table.

The booking platforms' own receptionists are priced per location instead: Boulevard's Beau at $125 a month with 200 minutes, GlossGenius Reception at $50 a month. Our AI receptionist cost guide shows how call length changes the bill.

Reminder texts, deposits and recording

A summary, not legal advice.

  • Reminders aren't marketing; offers are. The FCC defines an advertisement as “any material advertising the commercial availability or quality of any property, goods, or services” (47 CFR 64.1200(f)(1)), and marketing calls and texts sent with an autodialer or an artificial or prerecorded voice need the person's prior express written consent (64.1200(a)(2)). Keep reminder texts free of promotions, and honor any request to stop within ten business days (64.1200(a)(10)). Our guide to texting callers has the details.
  • AI reminder calls must say who's calling. The FCC ruled in February 2024 that AI-generated voices count as artificial voices under the TCPA (FCC 24-17). Artificial or prerecorded voice messages must “At the beginning of the message, state clearly the identity of the business, individual, or other entity that is responsible for initiating the call” and give a callback number (64.1200(b)(1) and (b)(2)).
  • Deposits and card numbers. Services differ: Smith.ai's receptionists can collect payment details for deposits in Square Appointments (Smith.ai), while Abby Connect's receptionists never take card numbers and leave deposits to the salon (Abby). Decide which you want before the trial, and ask how card details are handled.
  • Recording calls. Most AI receptionists record every call. Federal law allows a recording “where one of the parties to the communication has given prior consent” (18 U.S.C. 2511); the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press lists about 11 states that mainly require every party's consent, plus Connecticut and Nevada for phone calls, and advises assuming the stricter law applies across state lines (RCFP). If you're in one, have the greeting say the call is recorded.

Test plan for the trial

  1. A new client, Saturday morning. “I'd like highlights with Maria next week.” Did it check Maria's real availability, block the full service length, book a consultation if that's your rule, and text a confirmation?
  2. A reschedule at 9 p.m. “I can't make tomorrow at 10.” Did it find the booking by phone number, apply your cancellation policy, and offer the slot to someone on the waitlist?
  3. A price question. “How much for a full set of acrylics?” Did it give your from-price and say what changes it?
  4. A walk-in. “Can I come in for a beard trim in an hour?” Did it give today's real openings, not a guess?
  5. An unhappy client. “My color came out orange.” Did it reach the owner or manager quickly, instead of booking a slot?

Then check the calendar, the texts the caller received and the transcripts, fix the rules and call again before you forward the salon line.

Questions salon owners ask

What does an AI receptionist for a salon do?

It answers calls when no one at the front desk can: it books, moves and cancels appointments with the right stylist for the right length of time, answers questions about services, prices, hours and policies from your information, takes messages and passes complaints to you. Some book during the call; others text a booking link.

How much does a salon answering service cost?

At 100 two-minute calls a month, the AI receptionists on this page cost $49 to $212.50 and the live services $269 to $915. Booking platforms price their own receptionists per location: Boulevard's at $125 a month with 200 minutes, GlossGenius's at $50 a month.

Does my booking software have its own AI receptionist?

Several do: Boulevard (Beau), GlossGenius (Reception), Fresha (AI Concierge, per a directory listing) and Zenoti. Vagaro's Vera answers messages, and its announcement doesn't say it answers phone calls; and we found none from Square Appointments, where third-party services book instead.

Can an AI receptionist book into Square, Vagaro or Boulevard?

Some can. Abby Connect's AI books into Boulevard and Square Appointments; Smith.ai's receptionists book into Square Appointments; AgentZap books into Vagaro, and Upfirst reaches Vagaro through Zapier; SkipCalls books into Square. Others book into Google Calendar or Outlook, or text a booking link.

Should an answering service take deposits by phone?

Decide first. Smith.ai's receptionists can collect payment details for deposits in Square Appointments, while Abby Connect's never take card numbers and leave deposits to the salon; GlossGenius says its receptionist follows your deposit and card-on-file policies. Ask any service how it handles card details before you agree.

Can it send appointment reminder texts?

Many can. Keep reminders free of offers, since marketing texts need written consent, and honor any request to stop within ten business days. AI voice reminder calls must name your business at the start and give a callback number. This is general information, not legal advice.

Sources

  • Zenoti, AI receptionist for salons and spas (1 September 2025); Cira, missed call statistics (October 2026), reporting Zenoti's 2025 client survey
  • Booking software, read 1 November 2026: Boulevard AI Receptionist page and help center; GlossGenius article on AI receptionists (October 2026) and Reception webinar page (23 October 2026); Fresha AI Concierge as listed by Stork.AI; Vagaro, Vera Receptionist (24 August 2026)
  • Vendors' salon, spa and pricing pages, read 1 November 2026: Upfirst, AptaBook, Cira, Rosie, Allo, KaiCalls (28 May 2026), My AI Front Desk, Smith.ai (Square Appointments page), Goodcall (14 May 2026), Dialzara (barbershop page), Quo, AgentZap (18 July 2026), SkipCalls, Specialty Answering Service, MAP Communications (22 August 2025), Abby Connect (beauty page and its Boulevard, Square Appointments and Fresha pages), Posh (24 September 2026), Answering Service Care
  • 47 CFR 64.1200 (Cornell LII); FCC 24-17 (8 February 2024); 18 U.S.C. 2511; Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, Reporter's Recording Guide