Best AI Answering Services

AI receptionist cost: what 14 services charge, and the real monthly bill

AI receptionists charge per call, per minute, per caller, per conversation or a flat fee, so the cheapest plan depends on your calls. At 200 calls a month the 12 we could price cost $59 to $385. Here is how each one counts, and what changes the bill.

Updated 26 October 2026Prices checked 21 October 2026We may earn a commission

An AI receptionist answers your business line, takes messages, books appointments and transfers urgent calls. What it costs depends less on the headline price than on how the vendor counts: per call, per minute, per unique caller, per conversation, or a flat fee. We took the published plans of 14 services and worked out the real monthly bill at 50, 200 and 500 calls a month. Prices checked 21 October 2026; the vendors' own pages are linked so you can check them again.

Some services on this page pay us a commission if you sign up through our links. It doesn't change the numbers: every figure comes from the vendor's published plan. How we compare.

The short answer

  • 50 calls a month: $48.20 to $99 across the 12 services we could price at that volume; half cost $56.98 or less.
  • 200 calls a month: $59 to $385; half cost $144 or less.
  • 500 calls a month: $129 to $800; half cost $258.50 or less.

For comparison, a live answering service costs $575 to $1,965 at 200 two-minute calls on the same published plans, and a full-time receptionist about $3,168 a month in wages alone, at the US median of $38,010 a year (BLS, May 2025). The cheapest plan isn't always the one that fits: the sections below show what changes the bill.

How AI receptionists charge

Five billing units are in use, and each one rewards a different kind of caller:

  • Per call (Upfirst, Smith.ai, Quo, KaiCalls): a long call costs the same as a short one. Good when calls run long; watch what counts as a call, because spam and hang-ups can use the allowance unless the vendor excludes them.
  • Per minute (Dialzara, Rosie, My AI Front Desk, RingCentral, Answrr, Ooma): cheap for short calls, dear when callers talk. The bill moves with your average call length.
  • Per unique caller (Goodcall): a regular customer who calls five times counts once, so it suits a business with repeat callers.
  • Per conversation (Cira, AptaBook): close to per call; AptaBook counts a call of up to 30 minutes as one conversation.
  • Flat fee (Allo): $64 a month billed yearly, with no published usage limit. Ask what happens at high volume before you commit.
ServiceChargedEntry plan a monthOver the planWhat counts
UpfirstPer call$24.95 for 30 calls$0.70 to $1.50 a callSpam, robocalls and calls under 15 seconds are not counted
DialzaraPer minute$29 for 60 minutes$0.35 to $0.48 a minuteBlocked spam calls don't use minutes
RosiePer minute$49 for 250 minutesNone published; move up a planBlocked spam calls don't use minutes
My AI Front DeskPer minute$99 for 240 minutes$0.25 a minuteSpam filter; minutes over the plan are paid from credits at about $0.25 a minute
Smith.ai AI ReceptionistPer call$0 for 25 calls$2.10 to $3.00 a call20M+ known spam numbers waived, plus up to 10% of other calls
RingCentral AI ReceptionistPer minute$49 for 100 minutes$0.50 a minuteSpam is blocked before the AI answers
AnswrrPer minute$49 for 250 minutes$0.15 to $0.25 a minuteNot stated
CiraPer conversation$59 for 200 conversations$0.59 to $0.79 a conversationSpam is filtered
GoodcallPer unique caller$79 for 100 callers$0.15 to $0.79 a callerA caller counts once a month; spam and wrong numbers don't count
Quo with SonaPer call$28 phone plan with 10 AI calls$0.45 to $1.00 a callCalls under 15 seconds are free
AptaBookPer conversation$49 for 50 conversationsNone published; move up a planA call of up to 30 minutes counts as one conversation (vendor email)
KaiCallsPer call$10 for 20 callsNone published; move up a planAllowances are approximate; no overage, the next plan is suggested (vendor email)
AlloFlat fee$64 billed yearly, no published limitNone publishedNo usage limit published
Ooma AI AnsweringPer minute$34.94 for 40 minutesNone published; move up a planUp to 40 minutes; Ooma estimates 2 minutes a call

From each vendor's pricing page and help center, checked 21 October 2026. Quo's AI receptionist, Sona, runs on a Quo phone plan; live transfers need the $33 plan.

The monthly bill at 50, 200 and 500 calls

The cheapest plan changes with volume. At 50 calls, Dialzara is lowest at $48.20; at 200 calls, Cira at $59; at 500 calls, Goodcall at $129. At 500 calls the dearest plan costs 6.2 times the cheapest.

Bar chart of the monthly bill at 200 two-minute calls. AI receptionists: Cira $59, Answrr $86.50, AptaBook $99, Quo with Sona $127, Goodcall $129, My AI Front Desk $139, Rosie $149, Upfirst $159.95, Dialzara $180, RingCentral AI Receptionist $199, KaiCalls $349, Smith.ai AI Receptionist $385. Live answering services: AnswerConnect $575, PATLive $668, Ruby $1,422.50, Smith.ai $1,965.
Cheapest published plan for each service at 200 calls a month of 2 minutes each, prices checked 21 October 2026. Allo (no published limit) and Ooma (40 minutes) are left out.
Service50 calls a month200 calls a month500 calls a month
Upfirst$54.95 (Starter)$159.95 (Pro)$299 (Scale)
Dialzara$48.20 (Business Lite)$180 (Business Pro)$349 (Business Elite)
Rosie$49 (Professional)$149 (Scale)$149 (Scale)
My AI Front Desk$99 (Business-in-a-Box)$139 (Business-in-a-Box)$289 (Business-in-a-Box)
Smith.ai AI Receptionist$75 (Free)$385 (Pro 150)$800 (Enterprise 500)
RingCentral AI Receptionist$49 (Standalone)$199 (Standalone)$499 (Standalone)
Answrr$49 (Solo)$86.50 (Solo)$159 (Growth)
Cira$59 (Starter)$59 (Starter)$228 (Growth)
Goodcall$79 (Starter)$129 (Growth)$129 (Growth)
Quo with Sona$60.50 (Sona 40)$127 (Sona 250)$227 (Sona 600)
AptaBook$49 (Solo)$99 (Starter)$149 (Professional)
KaiCalls$79 (Kai Line)$349 (Kai Office)$349 (Kai Office)
Allo$64*$64*$64*
Ooma AI AnsweringAbove its plansAbove its plansAbove its plans
PATLive (live receptionists)$189$668$1,499
AnswerConnect (live receptionists)$350$575$1,417.50
Ruby (live receptionists)$395$1,422.50$3,350
Smith.ai (live receptionists)$530$1,965$3,800

Every call answered, 2 minutes on average, the cheapest published plan with any published overage added; plan name in brackets. "Above its plans" means the volume is beyond every published plan and no overage rate is published. *Allo publishes no usage limit for its AI receptionist; $64 is the yearly-billed price. Prices checked 21 October 2026.

Call length: the number that moves per-minute plans

Every figure above assumes 2-minute calls, the length Ooma uses in its own estimate. A clinic or a law firm often has longer calls. Double the average to 4 minutes and the per-minute plans cost more, while per-call, per-caller and per-conversation plans stay where they were:

ServiceCharged2-minute calls4-minute callsDifference
Upfirstper call$159.95$159.95No change
Dialzaraper minute$180$319+$139
Rosieper minute$149$149No change
My AI Front Deskper minute$139$239+$100
Smith.ai AI Receptionistper call$385$385No change
RingCentral AI Receptionistper minute$199$399+$200
Answrrper minute$86.50$119+$32.50
Ciraper conversation$59$59No change
Goodcallper unique caller$129$129No change
Quo with Sonaper call$127$127No change
AptaBookper conversation$99$99No change
KaiCallsper call$349$349No change

Cheapest published plan at each length, prices checked 21 October 2026.

Your phone carrier's call log gives you the real average: total minutes divided by answered calls, for the last full month. Price your plan with that number, not with the vendor's example.

Booking and transfers can change the plan you need

Two features decide whether the cheapest plan works for you. In-call booking means the AI writes the appointment into your calendar while the caller is on the line; the alternative is a text with a booking link, which some callers never open. Live transfer means the AI can put an urgent caller through to you. Requiring both at 200 calls a month leaves 9 of the 12 services, from $86.50 (Answrr):

ServiceCheapest planWith in-call booking and live transfer
Upfirst$159.95$159.95
Dialzara$180$180
Rosie$149$149
My AI Front Desk$139$139
Smith.ai AI Receptionist$385$385
RingCentral AI Receptionist$199$199
Answrr$86.50$86.50
Cira$59Books by text link only
Goodcall$129Books by text link only
Quo with Sona$127Books by text link only
AptaBook$99$99
KaiCalls$349$349

"Books by text link only" means no plan writes the appointment into your calendar during the call; the AI texts the caller a booking link instead.

Caps, overage and yearly billing

  • Overage. Most per-minute and per-call plans charge a published rate past the allowance, from $0.15 to $3 a unit on the plans above. Rosie, Ooma, AptaBook and KaiCalls publish none: you move up a plan instead, so a busy month can cost a whole plan step.
  • Spam. A per-call plan is only as cheap as its spam filter. Upfirst doesn't count spam, robocalls or calls under 15 seconds; Smith.ai waives known spam numbers plus up to 10% of other calls; Quo doesn't charge for calls under 15 seconds.
  • Yearly billing saves about 15 to 20% (Upfirst 20%, AptaBook 15%, Rosie two months free), but Upfirst doesn't refund annual plans, and refused refunds on annual prepayment are among the worst complaints in the reviews we read. Pay monthly until a full month of real calls has gone through it.
  • Phone plan underneath. Quo's AI runs on a Quo phone plan ($15 to $28 a month) and Ooma's on Ooma Office. Check whether a service needs its own phone plan or works with your current number before you compare prices.

Free AI receptionists and free trials

A free plan that answers real customer calls every month is rare. Smith.ai has one: 25 live calls a month, then $3.00 a call; it takes a card at sign-up and charges nothing unless you switch on extra calls. Quo includes about 10 AI-answered calls a month in every paid phone plan. The rest sell a trial: Upfirst (14 days) and AptaBook (15 days) start without a card, while Dialzara, Rosie, Cira, Quo and Allo ask for one. Goodcall, KaiCalls and My AI Front Desk let you build and test an agent for free, before any live calls on a number. What each vendor's own pages said on 26 October 2026:

ServiceFree optionFree trialCard to start
UpfirstNone14 days with every feature of the plan; the trial badge in our test account showed 100 callsNo (pricing page)
DialzaraNone7 days on every plan, on real callsYes, per its comparison page
RosieNone7 days with all features; the first charge comes when it endsA payment method, per its terms
My AI Front DeskA free account to build the agent and test-call it in the browser: 300 demo credits, about 12 minutes, in our test7 days of Business-in-a-Box ($99 a month, 200 voice minutes)Its terms say the payment method you provide is charged if you keep the service after the trial
Smith.aiFree plan: 25 live calls a month, then $3.00 a call, with extra calls off by defaultNone; Smith.ai calls the free plan “not a trial”Yes, at sign-up; no charge until you authorize one (Smith.ai)
RingCentralNone14 days, for the standalone plan or the RingEX add-on (RingCentral)Not stated
AnswrrNoneOffered; its length and minutes are shown at sign-upHomepage: no card to start; terms: payment details may be required
CiraNone7 days of the full AI receptionistYes, per its comparison pages
GoodcallA free demo agent for one user, without a phone numberNone statedNot stated
Quo (Sona)About 10 AI-answered calls a month in every paid Quo plan (Quo)7 days with all features, Sona included; calls within the US and CanadaYes, with a $1 temporary hold (Quo help)
AptaBookNone15 days on every plan, voice includedNo (pricing page)
KaiCallsA free browser preview of your agentNone; the first week costs $2 for eligible new subscribers, then the plan price (KaiCalls)No for the preview; a paid plan for a real number
AlloNone7 days on the Business plan, full featuresYes; no charge until the trial ends (Allo FAQ)
OomaNone; AI Answering is an add-on to Ooma OfficeNone stated for the add-on; Ooma Office has a 30-day risk-free trialNot stated

From each vendor's pricing page, help center, comparison pages or terms, read 26 October 2026; demo credits and trial calls as seen in our test accounts on 16 October 2026. My AI Front Desk's billing guide of April 2026 describes a $0 plan with limited usage; its current pricing page lists none. The sign-up screen has the final word on the card.

  • Put the end date in your calendar. A trial that took a card turns into the paid plan when it ends, unless you cancel first: Rosie's help center and Allo's FAQ both put the first charge at the end of the trial.
  • Read the sign-up screen. It has the final word on the card: on some services the terms ask for a payment method even where the pricing page doesn't mention one.
  • Test it on real calls. During the trial, forward only the calls you don't answer, so the AI picks up when you can't and you hear it with real callers; our setup guide lists the forwarding codes. Upfirst says test calls are always free.
  • Money-back guarantees are rare. KaiCalls is the one service here that publishes one for its AI plans: 30 days, on every paid plan (KaiCalls pricing). Ooma's 30-day risk-free trial covers Ooma Office and its equipment. For yearly plans, see the refund point above.

Price changes we found

We re-check every price in this guide against the vendors' own pages. On 21 October 2026, 13 of the 18 services in our price model matched our previous check of 30 September; five did not:

  • Answrr re-priced all three plans: a new Solo plan at $49 for 250 minutes; Growth is now $99 for 700 minutes (was $199 for 750) and Pro $199 for 1,600 minutes (was $449 for 2,000); overage now runs $0.15 to $0.25 a minute.
  • Goodcall changed its allowances and overage: Starter is still $79 for 100 unique callers, but each extra caller costs 79¢ (was 50¢); Growth now covers 500 callers (was 250) at 26¢ over, and Scale is $299 for 2,000 callers (was $249 for 500) at 15¢.
  • Quo shows its Starter phone plan, which Sona needs, at $28 a month billed monthly ($15 billed yearly); we had $19.
  • Smith.ai added a self-serve Pro 300 plan at $500 for 300 calls, the same price as its Enterprise 300.
  • AnswerConnect, a live service: our table now follows its current US price list, $350 for 200 minutes, $395 for 300 and $575 for 400, with $1.85 to $2.50 a minute over the plan.

The same day we re-checked the ten live services in our virtual receptionist guide. Apart from AnswerConnect, above, seven matched; Moneypenny now charges $2.09 to $2.85 for each minute over the plan (was $1.67 to $2.28) and sells AI plans from $99 for 50 calls, and Abby Connect's 50-minute plan is $164 (was $165).

Every figure on this page uses the new prices. The full table, every plan with its price, allowance, overage and the date we checked it, is free to download and reuse with a link to this page: ai-receptionist-prices.csv.

Against a live answering service or a receptionist

Live answering services charge by the minute, so their bill grows faster with volume: at 200 two-minute calls, PATLive comes to $668, AnswerConnect $575, Ruby $1,422.50 and Smith.ai's live receptionists $1,965 a month. A person handles the unusual call better; an AI answers at 3 a.m. for the same price as at noon. Our virtual receptionist guide prices the live services in detail, and the home page covers when a person is worth the difference.

Work out your own bill in three steps

  1. Count last month's answered calls and their average length from your carrier's call log. Add the calls you missed: they are the ones the AI is for.
  2. Decide what you need on the call: booking into your calendar, transfers, texting, a second language. Drop the services whose plans lack them.
  3. Price the shortlist at your numbers with the cost calculator on our home page, then start the trial of the cheapest one that fits. Upfirst's 14-day trial and AptaBook's 15-day trial need no card; the free plans and trials table covers the rest.

Not sure an AI receptionist pays for itself at your volume? Our free case study works out the break-even from your own numbers.

Questions owners ask

How much does an AI receptionist cost?

At 200 two-minute calls a month, the 12 services we could price cost $59 to $385, and half cost $144 or less. At 50 calls the range is $48.20 to $99. Prices from each vendor's published plans, checked 21 October 2026.

What is the cheapest AI receptionist?

It depends on your volume and on what you need. At 50 calls a month the cheapest is Dialzara ($48.20); at 200 calls, Cira ($59). If the AI must book appointments during the call and transfer urgent callers, the cheapest at 200 calls is Answrr at $86.50.

Is there a free AI receptionist?

Smith.ai has a free plan with 25 live calls a month; it takes a card at sign-up, and extra calls cost $3.00 each once you switch them on. Quo includes about 10 AI-answered calls a month in its paid phone plans. Most others sell a 7- to 15-day trial; Upfirst's 14 days and AptaBook's 15 days start without a card. Goodcall, KaiCalls and My AI Front Desk let you build and test an agent free, before any live calls. The free plans and trials table has every service, read 26 October 2026.

Is per-minute or per-call pricing cheaper?

Per-minute pricing is cheaper when calls are short, per-call pricing when they run long. Divide the price per call by the price per minute to find the break-even length: at $0.50 a call and $0.25 a minute, calls over 2 minutes are cheaper per call. Use your real average call length from your carrier's log.

Do spam calls count against the plan?

It depends on the vendor. Upfirst doesn't count spam, robocalls or calls under 15 seconds; Smith.ai waives known spam numbers and up to 10% of other calls; Dialzara, Rosie and RingCentral block spam before it uses minutes; Quo doesn't charge for calls under 15 seconds. Ask the vendor if its pricing page doesn't say.

Is an AI receptionist cheaper than an answering service?

Usually by a wide margin. At 200 two-minute calls a month, live answering services cost $575 to $1,965 on their published plans, against $59 to $385 for the AI services. A person still handles complex or emotional calls better.

Should I pay yearly?

Only once you're sure. Yearly billing saves about 15 to 20% (Upfirst 20%, AptaBook 15%, Rosie two months free), but Upfirst doesn't refund annual plans, and refused refunds on annual prepayment are among the worst complaints in the reviews we read.

Sources

  • Pricing pages and help centers of Upfirst, Dialzara, Rosie, My AI Front Desk, Smith.ai, RingCentral, Answrr, Cira, Goodcall, Quo, Allo, Ooma, AptaBook and KaiCalls (vendor-published), checked 21 October 2026; AptaBook's conversation rule and KaiCalls' allowances by vendor email (9 and 13 October 2026)
  • Free plans, trials and card rules: each vendor's pricing page, help center, comparison pages and terms, read 26 October 2026; the links sit in the free plans and trials table. Demo credits (My AI Front Desk) and trial calls (Upfirst) as seen in our test accounts, 16 October 2026
  • PATLive, AnswerConnect (US pricing PDF), Ruby (plans and help-center overage rates) and Smith.ai live receptionist pricing pages, checked 21 October 2026
  • US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Receptionists, median pay May 2025 (page modified 27 August 2026)
  • Method: every call answered, 2 minutes on average unless stated, the cheapest published plan at each volume with published overage added. How we compare