Bilingual answering services: Spanish and English, AI and live, priced
Spanish on the same number as English: which live services and AI receptionists answer in Spanish, when, and what it costs ($49 to $1,015 a month for 100 calls).
About 44.9 million people in the US aged 5 and over speak Spanish at home, and 18.4 million of them speak English less than “very well” (US Census Bureau, 2024). A bilingual answering service answers their calls in Spanish, and yours in English, on the same number. This guide compares the live answering services and AI receptionists that do it: who answers, at what hours, how a caller gets to Spanish and what it costs, from each service's own pages.
Some services on this page pay us a commission if you sign up through our links, Answering Service Care among them. It doesn't change what we report: language terms and prices come from each vendor's own pages, read 21 October 2026. How we compare.
The short answer
- Most live services now include Spanish at no extra cost: MAP Communications, PATLive, Abby Connect, Ruby, Moneypenny and Posh say so on their own pages. AnswerConnect sells Spanish as an add-on from $30 a month, and Smith.ai charges $1 a call for a dedicated Spanish line.
- Spanish hours can be shorter than English hours: PATLive answers in Spanish from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. Eastern, and Posh guarantees Spanish on weekdays from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern. MAP, Abby Connect, AnswerConnect and Ruby say Spanish runs around the clock.
- Most AI receptionists switch to Spanish by themselves, for the same price as English: Upfirst, Rosie, Cira and KaiCalls on every plan, and Dialzara from its $29 plan.
- The price gap is wide: 100 two-minute calls a month with Spanish cost $49 to $212.50 with the AI receptionists below, and $276.50 to $1,015 with the live services.
How a Spanish-speaking caller gets an answer
There are three ways to set it up, and the one you choose decides what the caller hears in the first seconds of the call:
- A bilingual receptionist on your usual line. At most live services, not every receptionist speaks Spanish. Ruby's English-speaking receptionists transfer a Spanish caller to the bilingual team, with hold music until someone picks up, and Abby Connect transfers the caller as soon as a bilingual receptionist is free (Ruby; Abby Connect).
- A Spanish option. PATLive includes a free “press 1 for English or 2 for Spanish” menu, and Ruby and Abby Connect can set one up; Smith.ai sells a dedicated Spanish line at $1 a call. My AI Front Desk's help center quotes its own dashboard: “90% of callers hang up when they hear the initial language selection prompt” (My AI Front Desk; its data, method not published).
- An AI receptionist that follows the caller. Upfirst, KaiCalls and Dialzara say no menu is needed: the AI hears Spanish and answers in Spanish, even if the caller switches mid-call.
Whichever you choose, your voicemail and after-hours messages need a Spanish version too. Our voicemail greeting generator writes them in English and Spanish.
Live answering services that speak Spanish
Nine live services that publish both their prices and their Spanish terms, cheapest first at 100 two-minute calls a month:
| Service | 100 calls a month | Spanish hours | What Spanish costs | How a caller reaches Spanish |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MAP Communications | $276.50 | 24/7 | No extra fee: every plan lists “English & Spanish Fluency” (pricing) | Bilingual agents, with a Spanish and an English script (MAP) |
| Answering Service Care | $329 | Not stated; the service answers 24/7 | “Bilingual operators” in all plans; the Starter card also lists live multilingual at $1 a minute, so ask what applies to Spanish (pricing) | English- and Spanish-speaking agents (Answering Service Care) |
| PATLive | $349 | 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET, every day; English 24/7 | “No bilingual fees”; ask customer care to activate it (PATLive) | Bilingual receptionists, and a free “press 1 for English or 2 for Spanish” menu if you want one (pricing) |
| AnswerConnect | $380with the $30 Spanish add-on | 24/7 | Add-on, “from $30/month” (price list) | Bilingual receptionists through a routing add-on (AnswerConnect) |
| Posh | $420 | Guaranteed weekdays, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET (FAQ) | “At no additional charge” | Operators fluent in English and Spanish |
| Moneypenny | $422 | Not stated; calls answered 24 hours a day | No extra cost: every plan lists bilingual answering (pricing) | Receptionists answer in English or Spanish (Moneypenny) |
| Abby Connect | $599 | 24/7, no after-hours upcharge | Included in every plan (pricing) | Bilingual receptionists: a transfer from an English-only colleague, or a language menu (help center) |
| Ruby | $720 | 24/7, 365 days a year | “No additional cost” (Ruby) | A transfer to the bilingual team, a Spanish-only line or a “press 2” menu (help center) |
| Smith.ai live receptionists | $1,015with $1 a call for the Spanish line | 24/7 (Smith.ai) | $1.00 a call on its “Dedicated Spanish line” (pricing) | Every call on that line answered in Spanish by a fluent agent |
Spanish terms from each service's own pages, read 21 October 2026. Monthly cost for 100 two-minute calls on the cheapest published plan, with Spanish added where it costs extra, prices checked 21 October 2026; one-time setup fees not included (AnswerConnect $49.99 on most plans, Answering Service Care $50).
Also from their own pages: Specialty Answering Service offers Spanish-speaking staff and a 14-day trial, but doesn't say what Spanish costs (SAS). ReceptionHQ includes Spanish on every account from 5 a.m. to 7 p.m. Mountain time, seven days a week, with a surcharge on weekends and federal holidays and English-only answering overnight (ReceptionHQ). Davinci mentions bilingual receptionists only on its industry pages, and its live receptionists work weekdays, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Eastern (Davinci). For law firms, Answering Legal says every message reaches you in English, written by its bilingual receptionists, and shares its prices through a form (Answering Legal). Our virtual receptionist guide compares these live services on everything else: billing steps, spam calls, trials and HIPAA.
AI receptionists that speak Spanish
None of the AI receptionists below charges a separate fee for Spanish. What differs is whether the AI follows the caller on its own and what you have to switch on first:
| Service | 100 calls a month | Switches language by itself? | Languages | What Spanish costs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rosie | $49 | Yes: it “recognises the caller's language” (Rosie) | English and Spanish | Every plan (pricing) |
| Cira | $59 | Yes: it “detects the caller's language and replies in kind” (Cira) | English and Spanish, plus others such as Portuguese and Japanese | Every plan |
| Upfirst | $69.95 | Yes, “even mid call”, with no menu and no setting to turn on (Upfirst) | 35+ (pricing) | Every plan |
| Quo with Sona | $77 | At the start of the call only; it “cannot detect or switch between languages mid-call” (beta) (help center) | English, Spanish and French (Quo) | Not stated |
| KaiCalls | $79 | Yes, “without a phone menu”, in the languages you set for each agent (help) | Two to four per line, from ten | Every plan (pricing) |
| Dialzara | $96.20 | Yes, mid-call too, once its support team turns the languages on (Dialzara) | Ten | From the $29 plan (pricing) |
| RingCentral AI Receptionist | $99 | “From the first word” and mid-call; you choose English, Spanish or both (RingCentral) | Seven, among them French, German and Portuguese (release notes) | Not stated |
| AptaBook | $99 | It follows the caller's language “for the session” (FAQ) | 20+ | Not stated |
| My AI Front Desk | $99 | Its product page says yes, mid-call; its help center describes a language prompt when you pick several languages, in a beta setting (help center) | 20+ (product page), over 40 (help center) (My AI Front Desk) | Depends on your plan |
| Smith.ai AI Receptionist | $212.50 | Yes, once Spanish support is enabled; bilingual agents take over when a call needs a person (Smith.ai) | English and Spanish | Not stated (pricing) |
Language terms from each vendor's own pages, read 21 October 2026. Monthly cost for 100 two-minute calls on the cheapest plan that includes Spanish, from our price model, checked 21 October 2026; Dialzara's pricing page re-read 28 October 2026.
Goodcall and Answrr don't mention other languages on their sites, Ooma's AI answering says only that it supports “multiple languages” (Ooma), and Allo's help center lists English and French voices (Allo). Ask them before you count on Spanish.
On our own test calls: Upfirst switched to Spanish the moment we asked, without a pause, and its call page then showed the conversation translated into English, with the original a click away (our Upfirst review). KaiCalls carried on in fluent Spanish too, but our line's transcriber was still set to English, so the Spanish part came out as garbled English words in the transcript and the email: set the caller languages on the line before you go live (our KaiCalls review).

What bilingual answering costs
For 100 calls of two minutes a month, on the cheapest published plan that includes Spanish, with Spanish add-ons counted:
The cheapest live service here, MAP Communications, costs 5.6 times the cheapest AI receptionist, Rosie. A person still handles an upset or confused caller better than software, which is why several services sell both: Abby Connect's plans include human and AI answering, and Smith.ai's AI hands a call to its bilingual agents when it needs a person. Price your own volume in the calculator.
What to check before you sign
- Spanish hours, not just answering hours. A service that answers 24/7 in English may answer in Spanish only part of the day. Get the Spanish hours in writing.
- How the switch happens. A transfer to a bilingual colleague means a short hold; a menu means one more step before anyone answers; an AI that follows the caller means neither, but test it with your own callers' accents.
- Which language your messages arrive in. Ruby relays Spanish calls “back to you in English” (Ruby), Abby Connect and Quo send English summaries, and Upfirst translates transcripts into your language. Dialzara delivers messages and transcripts in the language the caller spoke (Dialzara).
- What has to be switched on. PATLive's Spanish service must be activated by customer care, Dialzara's support team turns languages on, Abby Connect's AI answers in English only until you ask for Spanish, Smith.ai's AI needs Spanish support enabled, and KaiCalls sets languages per agent.
- The same script in both languages. Give the service the same questions in Spanish as in English, translated by someone you trust. A legal intake service, Alert Communications, says conversion “depends on whether the Spanish script matches” the English one (Alert).
- Other languages. Ruby answers in English and Spanish only (Ruby). Several AI receptionists cover more: Upfirst 35+ languages, Dialzara ten, KaiCalls up to four per line from ten.
Test it with five calls
- Call in Spanish from the first word, the way a new customer would.
- Start in English and switch to Spanish halfway through.
- With a live service, call outside its Spanish hours and note what happens: a transfer, a Spanish voicemail or an English receptionist.
- Give a name, an address and a phone number in Spanish, then check the message you receive.
- Read the transcript or summary: its language, the spelling of the names and every number.
By industry
- Law firms: personal-injury and immigration practices take many Spanish calls, and intake must collect the conflict-check names first. See our law firm guide.
- Plumbers and HVAC: a Spanish-speaking caller with a burst pipe or no heat needs the emergency route as much as anyone. See our plumber and HVAC guides.
- Property managers: tenants report maintenance problems in their own language. See our property management guide.
- Real estate agents: a Spanish-speaking buyer calling from a yard sign needs the listing facts and a showing in Spanish. See our real estate guide.
- After hours: check the Spanish hours against the hours you need covered. See our after-hours answering guide.
Questions owners ask
What is a bilingual answering service?
A service that answers your business calls in two languages, almost always English and Spanish, on the same number. A live service does it with bilingual receptionists; an AI receptionist does it by recognizing the caller's language and answering in it.
How much does a bilingual answering service cost?
For 100 two-minute calls a month, from $49 (Rosie) to $212.50 (Smith.ai AI Receptionist) with the AI receptionists we compared, and from $276.50 (MAP Communications) to $1,015 (Smith.ai live receptionists, with its $1-a-call Spanish line) with live services. Most live services include Spanish at no extra cost; AnswerConnect charges from $30 a month for it.
Which answering services include Spanish at no extra cost?
Among live services: MAP Communications, PATLive, Abby Connect, Ruby, Moneypenny and Posh, according to their own pages; Answering Service Care lists bilingual operators in all plans. Among AI receptionists: Upfirst, Rosie, Cira and KaiCalls include Spanish on every plan, and Dialzara from its $29 plan.
Do AI receptionists speak Spanish?
Most do. Upfirst, Rosie, Cira, KaiCalls, Dialzara, Smith.ai's AI and RingCentral's AI Receptionist say they detect a Spanish-speaking caller and answer in Spanish. Quo's Sona chooses the language at the start of the call and can't switch mid-call. Goodcall and Answrr don't mention other languages.
Is Spanish answered 24/7?
At MAP Communications, Abby Connect, AnswerConnect, Ruby and Smith.ai, yes, according to their pages. PATLive answers in Spanish from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. Eastern every day, Posh guarantees it on weekdays from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Eastern, and ReceptionHQ from 5 a.m. to 7 p.m. Mountain time. AI receptionists answer in Spanish at any hour.
Will I get the messages in English?
Usually. Ruby relays Spanish calls to you in English, Answering Legal writes every message in English, Abby Connect and Quo send English summaries, and Upfirst translates transcripts into your language. Dialzara keeps messages and transcripts in the language the caller spoke.
Should I add a press-1-for-English menu?
Only if you have to. PATLive, Ruby and Abby Connect can add one, but a menu is one more step before anyone answers: My AI Front Desk's dashboard warns that 90% of callers hang up at a language prompt (its own data). AI receptionists that follow the caller's language, and live services that transfer to a bilingual colleague, need no menu.
Can an answering service handle languages other than Spanish?
Some can. Upfirst lists 35+ languages, Dialzara ten, KaiCalls up to four per line from ten, and RingCentral's AI seven. Answering Service Care advertises 80+ languages. Ruby answers in English and Spanish only.
Sources
Language terms read on each vendor's own pages on 21 October 2026. Prices: AI plans from our price model and live plans from our virtual receptionist guide; prices checked 21 October 2026.
- US Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2024 1-year estimates: table C16001 and table S1601 (language spoken at home, population 5 years and over)
- Live services: MAP bilingual answering and pricing; Answering Service Care bilingual answering and pricing; PATLive bilingual support and pricing; AnswerConnect bilingual answering and US price list; Posh FAQ; Moneypenny bilingual answering and pricing; Abby Connect bilingual answering, help center and pricing; Ruby bilingual answering, bilingual service options and other languages; Smith.ai bilingual answering and receptionist pricing; Specialty Answering Service bilingual answering and pricing; ReceptionHQ Spanish FAQ; Davinci real estate page and receptionist FAQ; Answering Legal bilingual receptionists; Alert Communications
- AI receptionists: Upfirst bilingual answering and pricing; KaiCalls multilingual calling and pricing; Rosie bilingual answering and pricing; Cira; Dialzara bilingual answering and pricing; Smith.ai AI Receptionist pricing; RingCentral AI Receptionist and release notes; AptaBook FAQ; My AI Front Desk multilingual support and language settings; Quo Sona and Sona setup; Allo help center; Ooma AI answering
- Our own test calls with Upfirst (16 October 2026) and KaiCalls, in our hands-on reviews