Real estate answering services: AI and live options for agents, priced
Answer the yard-sign call at 9 p.m., book the Saturday showing, put the seller through to the listing agent and never confirm a wire. Seven AI receptionists and eight live services with real estate pages, priced at 100 and 300 calls a month.
A buyer standing at your yard sign calls once. If you're in a showing, at a closing or asleep, the buyer calls the next sign. A real estate answering service, AI or live, answers that call with the listing facts, books the showing or puts the hot lead through to the agent on duty, routes the seller to the listing agent and sends the lead to your phone and your CRM. It should also refuse the one call that can cost a client their down payment: a request to confirm wiring instructions.
Some services on this page may pay us a commission if you sign up through our links. It doesn't change what we report: prices and features come from each vendor's own pages, read 28 October 2026. How we compare.
Why a missed call costs an agent the client
The first agent often gets the job. In Zillow's 2026 survey, 54% of buyers who contacted an agent hired the first one they contacted, up from 50% in 2025 and 47% in 2023 and 2024 (Zillow, October 2026). Among sellers who used an agent, 59% hired the first one they contacted (Zillow, December 2025). In Texas, 79% of buyers and 70% of sellers interviewed only one agent (Texas REALTORS, 2026).
Many calls still don't reach an agent. In Pied Piper's 2026 mystery shop of 2,198 phone and website inquiries to 21 large brokerage brands, about a third of callers spoke with an agent during the call, and 73% of phone inquiries got no follow-up by phone, text or email within 24 hours (Pied Piper, October 2026).
Leads don't keep office hours. In Aiva's study of about 100,000 real estate leads, only 45% arrived between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., about 30% came in on weekends, and the busiest after-hours window was 6 p.m. to midnight (Aiva, 2018).
Buyers like text. Among buyers who used an agent, 43% preferred to hear from their agent by text and 31% by phone (Zillow), so a service that texts the listing link during the call does more than one that only takes a message.
Pied Piper sells mystery-shop studies and Aiva sells inside-sales services; their figures come from their own work. A claim that 78% of buyers work with the first agent who responds appears on several vendors' pages; we found no survey behind it, and Zillow's figures above are the nearest published ones. Speed matters for every lead, not only calls: our guide to AI that calls new leads within minutes covers web and portal leads.
What a real estate answering service must handle
Write these rules down before the trial, in the words you'd use with a new assistant. Every service on this page, AI or live, follows your instructions:
Call
What should happen
Sign call or listing inquiry
Name, number and which home (address or sign number); price, status, beds, baths and open-house times from the listing sheet, the same facts for every caller.
Showing request
Book it into the agent's calendar or showing tool, or offer two times and confirm by text.
Buyer who wants to talk now
Transfer to the agent on duty; if no one picks up, text the agent the caller's details right away.
Seller asking what the home is worth
Address, timeline and the best time to call back; book the listing appointment. No price guesses on the phone.
Client under contract
Put it through to the agent or transaction coordinator, or take a detailed message: inspection, appraisal, closing date.
Wire, earnest money or closing funds
Never give, confirm or change payment details. Send the caller to the title or escrow company at a number they already have, and alert the agent.
Questions about the area or who lives there
Facts about the home and public sources only; no opinions about neighborhoods, schools or the people in them.
Spanish-speaking caller
Answer in Spanish, or transfer to a Spanish speaker.
Another agent, a lender, an inspector
A message to the agent, not the buyer script.
The call paths this guide recommends: listing facts from the listing sheet, hot leads to a person, every lead into the CRM, and no wire details on the phone.
AI receptionists with a real estate setup
These seven publish a real estate page and a price. Each answers every call around the clock for a monthly fee by the call, the minute or the conversation; they differ in how they route a team's calls, what they can tell a caller about a listing, and how the lead reaches your CRM.
1
Upfirst
The most flexible routing on a per-call price: buyers, sellers and renters go to the right agent by your rules, property type or location, and it books showings on your calendar and texts the listing link, the virtual tour and the showing confirmation while the caller is still on the line.
The most real estate CRMs by name: each call goes to Follow Up Boss, kvCORE, Chime (now Lofty), BoomTown or CINC as structured data by webhook or Zapier, and a hot lead can be transferred to you, sent to you as a text alert, or both.
Price
$10 / about 20 calls; $79 / about 170; $349 / about 800
Booking
Reads your Google Calendar and creates the showing
Languages
English, Spanish and others, up to four per line
First week
$2 for eligible new subscribers
Why it fits
Team routing and live transfer on every plan.
A text summary of every call; no per-minute overage charges.
Built for listing traffic: it checks MLS-linked availability, books showings, takes the overflow when an open house sets the phone ringing and escalates hot leads to an agent in real time, after asking about budget, timeline and preferred neighborhoods.
Price
$99 a month, or $79 billed yearly; 200 voice minutes
Extra minutes
$0.25 each, in credits
CRM
Follow Up Boss, kvCORE and BoomTown through Zapier; HubSpot and Salesforce native
AI and people on one line: the AI handles scheduling and common listing questions, and its receptionists take sensitive property conversations, negotiations and emotional client calls. It plans for the call spikes after an open house is announced or a listing goes live.
AI plans
Free for 25 calls; $150 for 75; $500 for 300
Live receptionists
From $300 for 30 calls; $8.50 to $11.50 per extra call
CRM
Follow Up Boss, kvCORE and LionDesk, through APIs or custom workflows
Spanish
On every AI plan; a Spanish line for live calls at $1 a call
Why it fits
Asks about budget, pre-approval, timeline and location.
Billed by the call, not the minute.
Watch for
Its Follow Up Boss integration page covers outbound campaigns; inbound calls are logged through a Zapier template.
Intake like a good inside sales agent: it asks which property, buying or selling, price range, timeline, pre-approval and whether the caller already has an agent, sets up the showing or listing consult, and texts you the lead right after the call.
Price
$59 / 200 conversations; $159 / 400; $259 / 600
Transfers
One call-forwarding contact at $59, five at $159, the plan it suggests for call transfers
Answers
Price, beds and baths, HOA and open-house times, from your notes
Trial
7 days
Why it fits
English and Spanish on every plan.
Open-house RSVPs; no per-minute charges and no contract.
Watch for
Its real estate page says it books on your calendar, while its plan list names text scheduling links; check which you get in the trial.
Team routing on a small budget: leads go to the right agent by area, property type or round-robin, with a notice to each agent, and it takes the calls you miss at showings, open houses and closings after asking about budget, financing, timeline, down payment and must-haves.
Price
$29 / 60 min; $99 / 220; $199 / 500; $349 / 1,000
Extra minutes
$0.48 down to $0.35
Calendar
Google Calendar native; Outlook too per its FAQ, though its scheduling page lists Outlook from the $199 plan
Trial
7 days, no setup fee
Why it fits
English and Spanish from the $29 plan; it detects the caller's language.
Takes down offer details and alerts you at once; it doesn't negotiate.
Watch for
Its pricing page lists warm transfers on the $349 plan, and its FAQ says live transfer can be switched on by request. Ask which plan you need.
A low-cost way to cover evenings and weekends: it qualifies buyers and sellers on budget, pre-approval, timeline and location, books showings and listing consults, and routes each qualified lead to the right agent by your rules.
Price
$49 / 50 conversations; $99 / 400; $149 / 1,500
Software
Google Calendar, Outlook, HubSpot, Zoho CRM, webhooks
After hours
Answers when you can't, open-house Sundays included
Trial
15 days, no card
Why it fits
Keeps leads in HubSpot or Zoho.
Books listing consults as well as showings.
Transfers on every plan, according to AptaBook.
Watch for
No real estate CRM such as Follow Up Boss is named.
Rosie learns home details from your website and MLS listings; its $149 plan gives 1,000 minutes with transfers and calendar booking, though its real estate page says it sends callers a link to book showings themselves (Rosie).
Allo is a phone system whose AI answers, qualifies and routes one line to the right agent; its AI Receptionist costs $32 per agent a month billed yearly, on top of an Allo phone seat (real estate page, pricing).
Goodcall answers square-footage, HOA and school-zone questions and names Wise Agent (Goodcall).
Quo gives each agent a number, and its Sona AI speaks English, Spanish or French (Quo).
RingCentral's AI Receptionist answers property and open-house questions and sends high-priority calls to your mobile (RingCentral), from $49 a month for 100 minutes (pricing).
Live answering services for real estate
A person handles the nervous seller and the buyer who wants to talk now better, and charges by the minute or the call for it. These live services publish real estate pages and prices (read 28 October 2026):
Transfers by each team member's live status; books showings and other appointments, reschedules and cancellations; open-house sign-ups; answers in your team's name; bilingual receptionists 8am to 10pm ET at no extra charge; people only, no AI on calls (PATLive)
$49 + $2.99 a minute; $189 for 100 min, then $2.09
Answers in your brokerage's name; books showings while you're at one; live transfers; each lead as a text, an email, a CRM entry or a transfer; Spanish on every plan; an AI option (Abby Connect)
$164 for 50 Abby Minutes; $329 for 100; $599 for 200. One Abby Minute is 1 minute with a person or 2 with the AI
Qualifies leads and books appointments; patches ready-to-act callers through; keeps each agent's leads credited to that agent; property details in the script; bilingual team (MAP)
$49 + $1.37 a minute; $179 for 125 min, then $1.30
Schedules office appointments, open houses and property visits; gives lockbox information to agents booked for a showing; English and Spanish (Specialty Answering Service)
$44 + $1.54 a minute; $269 for 220 min, then $1.44; billed by the second
Qualifies buyers and sellers; takes weekend showing requests; transfers or messages by email or text; English and Spanish; optional AI for listing questions and 24/7 answering (Posh)
$65 + $2.30 a minute; $215 for 100 min, then $2.15
Schedules showings, answers listing questions and passes on leads; English and Spanish; messages by phone, fax, text or email (Answering Service Care)
June 2026 price list: live $179 for 100 min, then $1.70; AI $80 for 100 min, then $0.80; setup $50 or $100 (price list). Its pricing page shows other plans, from $35, without minutes; confirm the rates
Not stated
Smith.ai's live receptionists are in the AI section above, because they come with its AI plans.
If what you need most is showings booked, ShowingTime's Appointment Center gives agents round-the-clock access to live appointment specialists for $15 a month; it schedules showings rather than answering your line.
Getting the lead into Follow Up Boss, kvCORE or your CRM
A lead that waits in an email inbox can lose the race all over again. Most services reach real estate CRMs through Zapier or webhooks; Abby Connect is the one that calls its Follow Up Boss and kvCORE connections native (Follow Up Boss, kvCORE). What each service names on its own pages:
CRM
Services that name it, and how
Follow Up Boss
Abby Connect (native); KaiCalls (webhook and Zapier); Upfirst, My AI Front Desk, Posh (Zapier template) and AnswerFirst (Zapier); Smith.ai (APIs or custom workflows); PATLive (integration page) and Ruby (integrations page), method not stated
kvCORE (BoldTrail)
Abby Connect (native); KaiCalls (webhook and Zapier); Upfirst and My AI Front Desk (Zapier); Smith.ai; PATLive
BoomTown
KaiCalls (webhook and Zapier); My AI Front Desk (Zapier); PATLive
Chime (now Lofty) and CINC
KaiCalls (webhook and Zapier)
LionDesk
Smith.ai
Wise Agent
Goodcall
HubSpot, Salesforce, Zoho
Most of the AI receptionists; AptaBook keeps leads in HubSpot or Zoho
From each vendor's own pages, read 28 October 2026. Chime renamed itself Lofty in November 2023 (Inman); no service names Lofty, Real Geeks or ShowingTime under those names, and Lofty and Real Geeks sell AI assistants of their own (Lofty marketplace, Real Geeks).
Through Zapier, a call can create a Follow Up Boss contact, log the call or add a note (Zapier). Follow Up Boss's own directory lists more call-answering and inside sales partners, such as Vocaly AI, Rokrbox and Aiva (Follow Up Boss). During the trial, call your line and check that the lead lands in your CRM with the right source, the property asked about and the call summary, and that it starts your follow-up plan instead of waiting for someone to notice it.
What it costs at 100 and 300 calls a month
A solo agent's line might take 100 calls a month; a busy team, 300 or more. At two minutes a call, the AI receptionists cost $69.95 to $212.50 at 100 calls, and the live services $269 to $915:
Cheapest published plan for 2-minute calls (200 and 600 minutes) that books showings and can transfer a call, with published overage added. Cira from its $159 plan, the one it suggests for call transfers (its $59 plan lists one call-forwarding contact). AptaBook says transfers come on every plan. Dialzara at its cheapest plan, since its FAQ says live transfer can be switched on by request; its pricing page lists warm transfers on the $349 plan. Abby Connect bills extra minutes at its plan's rate, and its AI option counts half an Abby Minute a minute. Smith.ai's live receptionists bill by the call. Prices from each vendor's pricing page, read 28 October 2026; Answering Service Care's from its June 2026 price list (its pricing page shows other plans without minutes, so confirm). One-time setup fees are not included (Answering Service Care: $50 live, $100 AI).
Cheapest published plan for 100 two-minute calls a month that books showings and can transfer a call, from the table above. Prices checked 28 October 2026.
Price your own line from last month's call log: answered calls, missed calls and the average length. Our AI receptionist cost guide shows how call length and features change the bill, and the virtual receptionist guide prices more live services.
Fair housing, recording, texts and wires
A summary, not legal advice. An answering service or an AI that talks to buyers and sellers speaks for you.
Fair housing
The Fair Housing Act makes it unlawful “To make, print, or publish, or cause to be made, printed, or published any notice, statement, or advertisement” that “indicates any preference, limitation, or discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, or national origin” (42 U.S.C. 3604(c)). HUD's rules apply this to “all written or oral notices or statements” (24 CFR 100.75), count as steering “Communicating to any prospective purchaser that he or she would not be comfortable or compatible” with existing residents because of a protected characteristic (24 CFR 100.70), and make a person “vicariously liable for a discriminatory housing practice by the person's agent or employee” (24 CFR 100.7).
On crime and schools, HUD said in April 2026 that agents “are not breaking the law when they discuss crime rates and school quality” and can give that information “in an equal and consistent manner” (HUD, 24 April 2026). Its letter to the industry still calls unlawful “directing prospective homebuyers interested in equivalent properties to different areas according to their race” (HUD Dear Colleague letter).
Give every caller the same listing facts and the same status from the same data. The rules bar giving, because of a protected characteristic, “inaccurate or untrue information about the availability of dwellings for sale or rental” (24 CFR 100.80).
If the script answers questions about schools or crime, give every caller the same factual answer from the same public source, or offer the source and pass the question to the agent.
Keep comments about who lives in an area, or who would fit in, out of the script.
HUD's 2024 guidance on advertising through digital platforms, which covered automated ad targeting, was withdrawn in a notice published in April 2026, effective 17 September 2025; the notice says actions that don't comply with the Act “continue to be subject to enforcement by the Department” (HUD, Federal Register).
Ask your broker or lawyer to review the script before it goes live.
Recording calls
Most AI receptionists record and transcribe every call. Federal law allows a recording “where one of the parties to the communication has given prior consent” (18 U.S.C. 2511). The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press lists about 11 states that mainly require every party's consent (California, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania and Washington), notes that Connecticut and Nevada require it for phone calls, and advises assuming the stricter law applies when a call crosses state lines (RCFP). If you or your callers are in one of those states, have the greeting say the call is recorded, and check with your lawyer.
Texting the caller
Texts are covered: the FCC's do-not-call and calling-hours rules apply to anyone “making telephone solicitations or telemarketing calls or text messages to wireless telephone numbers” (47 CFR 64.1200(e)), and those hours rule out solicitations “before the hour of 8 a.m. or after 9 p.m. (local time at the called party's location)” (47 CFR 64.1200(c)(1)). Marketing calls to cell phones made with an autodialer or a prerecorded or artificial voice need the called party's prior express written consent (47 CFR 64.1200(a)(2)). A caller who asks for the listing link has asked for that text; adding the number to a drip campaign is another matter, so ask your lawyer where your texts fall. The FCC's one-to-one consent rule is gone: the Eleventh Circuit vacated it on 24 January 2025 (Insurance Marketing Coalition v. FCC) and the FCC removed it from its rules in July 2025 (FCC order DA 25-621).
Wire instructions: never by phone
The FBI's Internet Crime Complaint Center logged 12,368 real estate fraud complaints in 2025, with reported losses of $275.1 million, up from 9,359 complaints and $173.6 million in 2024 (FBI IC3 2025 report, NAR, April 2026); IC3 defines the category as losses from a real estate investment or fraud involving rental or timeshare property. The rule for your line: when a caller asks to confirm or change wiring instructions, the script never gives, confirms or changes payment details, sends the caller to the title or escrow company at a number they already have, and alerts the agent. The FBI's advice for transfers: “Use the old phone number you have stored, not the one that might be provided in the suspicious email” (FBI).
Test plan for the trial
Saturday, 9 a.m., outside the house. “I'm in front of your sign on Oak Street. Is it still available, and can I see it today?” Were the listing facts right, and was the showing booked or the agent on duty reached?
Sunday, 8 p.m., a seller. “What could my house sell for?” Did it take the address and the timeline and book a listing appointment, instead of guessing a price?
A buyer asks about the area. “Is this a good neighborhood for families like mine?” Did it stay with facts about the home and public sources, with no comment about who lives there?
A buyer under contract. “The title company emailed new wiring instructions. Can you confirm them?” Did it refuse to confirm anything, send her to the title company's number she already has, and alert the agent?
A caller speaks Spanish. Did the call go on in Spanish or reach a Spanish speaker, and did the lead reach your CRM with the language noted?
Then read the transcripts, check the leads in your CRM, fix the rules and repeat the test before your next open house.
It answers your line when you can't: it gives callers the listing facts, books showings and listing appointments, puts hot leads through to you or the agent on duty, takes messages from clients under contract, and sends every lead to your phone and your CRM. AI services charge a monthly fee by the call, the minute or the conversation; live services charge by the minute or the call.
How much does a real estate answering service cost?
At 100 two-minute calls a month, the AI receptionists on this page cost $69.95 to $212.50 and the live services $269 to $915. At 300 calls, it's $99 to $500 for AI and $774 to $2,125 for live answering. Prices from each vendor's pricing page, read 28 October 2026.
Can an AI receptionist book showings and route calls to the right agent?
Most of the ones on this page book showings on your calendar. For a team, Upfirst routes by your rules, property type or location; Dialzara by area, property type or round-robin; AptaBook and Allo send the caller to the right agent; and PATLive's live receptionists transfer by each agent's live status.
Do answering services work with Follow Up Boss or kvCORE?
Several do. Abby Connect says its Follow Up Boss and kvCORE connections are native; KaiCalls sends calls to Follow Up Boss, kvCORE, Chime (now Lofty), BoomTown and CINC by webhook and Zapier; Upfirst, My AI Front Desk and Posh connect to Follow Up Boss through Zapier; Smith.ai names Follow Up Boss, kvCORE and LionDesk. Check during the trial that a lead lands with its source and the call summary.
Can an answering service answer questions about schools or crime?
HUD said in April 2026 that agents are not breaking the law when they discuss crime rates and school quality, given in an equal and consistent manner; steering buyers to different areas because of race is still unlawful. Give every caller the same factual answer from the same public source, keep comments about who lives in an area out of the script, and have your broker or lawyer review it. This is general information, not legal advice.
Should an answering service ever confirm wire instructions?
No. The script should never give, confirm or change payment details. It should send the caller to the title or escrow company at a number the caller already has, and alert you. The FBI advises confirming a transfer by phone, using the number you already have stored rather than one in a suspicious email.
Sources
Vendors' real estate and pricing pages, read 28 October 2026: Upfirst, KaiCalls, My AI Front Desk (with its Follow Up Boss and integrations pages), Smith.ai (AI and live pricing, Zapier template), Cira, Dialzara (pricing page updated 21 October 2026, and FAQ), AptaBook, Rosie, Allo (real estate and pricing pages), Goodcall, Quo, RingCentral (blog for agents, 18 September 2026, and AI Receptionist pricing), PATLive, Abby Connect (with its Follow Up Boss and kvCORE pages), Ruby, MAP Communications, Specialty Answering Service, Posh, AnswerConnect, Answering Service Care (price list as of June 2026), AnswerFirst, ShowingTime Appointment Center
Zillow, Consumer Housing Trends Report 2026: buyers (14 October 2026); Zillow press release on its 2025 Consumer Housing Trends Report for Agents (30 December 2025); Texas REALTORS, 2026 Texas Homebuyers and Sellers Report; Pied Piper, real estate Lead Handling Effectiveness study press release (5 October 2026); Aiva, real estate lead timing study (27 August 2018)
Follow Up Boss integration directory; Zapier's Follow Up Boss app; Lofty marketplace; Inman on Chime becoming Lofty (7 November 2023); Real Geeks integrations
42 U.S.C. 3604; 24 CFR 100.7, 100.70, 100.75 and 100.80 (eCFR, current as of 23 October 2026); HUD press release 26-028 and Dear Colleague letter (24 April 2026); HUD Federal Register notice FR-6571-N-01 (6 April 2026)
18 U.S.C. 2511; Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, Reporter's Recording Guide; 47 CFR 64.1200 (eCFR, current as of 23 October 2026); Insurance Marketing Coalition v. FCC, No. 24-10277 (11th Cir., 24 January 2025); FCC order DA 25-621 (14 July 2025)
FBI Internet Crime Complaint Center, 2025 Internet Crime Report; National Association of REALTORS, Realtor Magazine (13 April 2026); FBI Portland, real estate fraud advice (24 July 2018)